I've had a Testing-moment.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby sgosnell on Mon Nov 08, 2010 11:58 am

You can get it outside the repos. I'm not paranoid about installing some things from outside. If you are, I guess you'll have to wait.
Asus eee-pc 900 w/ 32GB SSD.
sgosnell
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:32 pm
Location: Baja Oklahoma

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:07 pm

No, neither am I. :)

I was here:
http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository debian/
And here:
http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository squeeze/

But they are working again I see.
Last edited by rijnsma on Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby twa on Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:13 pm

rijnsma,
remastersys on Debian only works with file system ext3.
http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/debian.html
ciao
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:14 pm

Ext3 is good, I don't use ext4 and Grub2, because they destroy my multiboot-system.
The link you give is the page where the links are, I showed.

I've downloaded the package. I'm going to test. Thanks for the support!! :D
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:42 pm

Made an ISO and the livecd. I know the program, so no problem.
At startup the livecd looks great. I have not tested install, but I think it could be right on this multiboot system,
although there is a Grub2 and a depressed Grub, the Gdebi installer said...
(My MBR is from a distro on another partition; it is Grub1.)
So problem maybe over?! Thanks again! I can use LMDE safe now if all is right. :wink:
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby jeffreyC on Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:05 pm

One odd thing I noticed is that the OP replaced LMDE with Fedora which is less conservative about new software than Debian Sid.
If you are not comfortable on the leading/bleeding edge then Debian is a better choice.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Silent Warrior on Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:04 am

Jeffrey: If that's me you're referring to, I'm absolutely no conservative - I just need things to work, and somewhere along the line my LMDE-install apparently broke from my... let's call it curiosity. :) F14 is still working, though Compiz isn't behaving as I expected. And I miss DektopNova... ... Uh, wait, what are all those compilers for, anyway? SourceForge, here I come!
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby azathoth on Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:28 am

Fedora 14 isn't based on a development branch of anything since it went final. LMDE is. Testing or Sid based distros aren't for everyone and they will likely break sometimes. So, if you don't like fixing things sometimes or waiting for the repos to fix them, they're probably not the best choice. Neither Sid or Testing are intended for production use.

In fact I would say that if you want a nonbuntu out of the box distro that is less prone to breakage, Fedora, PCLOS or something like Mepis are excellent choices. personally I would recommend PCLOS - Texstar is a freaking god and they have a great community. If there ever is a prob, he fixes things super fast (sometimes within hours) and they have the best implementation of KDE I've ever used. Needless to say, Julia is also an excellent choice. Clem and the team do a nice job cleaning *buntu up and it's a little easier for them to fix things with. With LMDE they are pretty much at the mercy of the Debian repos.

Personally I think LMDE is a nice fork of Debian, especially after tweaking things a bit. But users looking for an out of the box, low maintenance distro may not. (just wait a couple of weeks, when the testing repos unfreeze, things might get interesting lol.)

from the Mint blog:
4. How does LMDE compare to the Ubuntu-based editions?

Pros:

* You don’t need to ever re-install the system. New versions of software and updates are continuously brought to you.
* It’s faster and more responsive than Ubuntu-based editions.

Cons:

* Although it’s using Romeo for unstable packages, LMDE continuously changes as it receives updates and new software. Compared to a frozen version of Linux Mint which changes very little once it’s publicly released, it’s not as stable. Things are likely to break more often but fixes can also come quicker. For this reason, LMDE requires a deeper knowledge and experience with Linux, dpkg and APT.
* Debian is a less user-friendly/desktop-ready base than Ubuntu. Expect some rough edges.


Good luck!
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby tdockery97 on Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:08 am

My personal solution is to run LMDE pointed at Squeeze. Once Squeeze goes final I'll have a good stable distro for a few years. I also have the new PCLOS E17 on a USB flash drive.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4909
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby azathoth on Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:24 am

Good way to roll. I went with Sid 'cause I crave adventure :lol:. But with Squeeze you will have an excellent LTS release with the legendary Debian stability. A great choice if you don't need the bleeding edge stuff.
It should be mentioned here though, for the benefit of other readers wishing to make that change, that the time is rather short now. Once testing updates fire up again, changing to Squeeze at that point may break your install.
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:45 pm

I did it a week ago (pointing at squeeze and synch) and it's all right.
Silly not so important question:
Is it also possible to go back to testing, when Sqeeze comes at the end of its lifecycle?
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby azathoth on Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:50 pm

That shouldn't be a prob, you would want to do a dist-upgrade after you change the repos. You should do the d-u outside of X in runlevel 3 to be safer. Of course with the development branches its always a little bit of a crap shot so as always, keep your fingers crossed lol.
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:37 pm

Ooww, if things go wrong I take my saved data and install the new edition. But I always try to keep the old ones
as long as possible and/or as long as I like the version. I prefer LTS-like. :D
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Txnca on Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:32 pm

Weeelllll, after reading through this thread, I realize that maybe, :? just maybe I need to learn a little more about this stuff. :shock: I have about a quarter of a quarter of a half of a percent understanding of what I just got through reading. :? Actually, I think that is pegging my understanding a little too high! :shock: :? I think I'll go play like I know what I am doing in another thread. :D C'ya!
Asus P5E MB/Intel C2D E8400@3Ghz/6GB Corsair Dominator DRAM/nVidia 8800GT 512MB
8xHDD 3.82TB
LG 22x DVD Burner
Logitec 5.1 Speakers/High Def Sound
Antec Tower/480w PSU
Samsung 22" LCD Monitor
APC 1300-XS UPS
User avatar
Txnca
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:30 am
Location: Ontario Canada VIA Texas

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Azati Prime on Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:52 pm

Is there some way to get the cool new toys from Mint 10 in LMDE?
EDIT: Just discovered the Romeo repository. I'm guessing that's it.
Azati Prime
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:40 pm

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby rijnsma on Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:42 am

Take care!
Mint 10 is much Ubuntu-like and Debian second.
LMDE is by far Debian (I think).
Qiana.... mind your backup..
User avatar
rijnsma
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:28 am
Location: NL

Re: I've had a Testing-moment.

Postby Silent Warrior on Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:19 am

Azati: Romeo is Mint's development/testing-branch. Probably a bit more reliable than Debian's sid, but it's still marked unstable. As rijnsma, I advice some caution - and keep a VERY close eye on what exact repository the package you're upgrading to/installing comes from!
Silent Warrior
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sverige

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests