LMDE - partitioning question

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

LMDE - partitioning question

Postby JakeUT on Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm

Hello!

I recently installed LMDE and took the plunge to completely clear the slate from Ubuntu 10.10 I had on my laptop. The installer did not have the slick auto partitioning section so I just created 1 huge partition. Is this going to be a problem? Do I need to create partitions for usr tmp var boot home etc.?

Sorry I am still learning a lot and may have taken this jump to LMDE too soon, but I like learning. Can I use gparted after the fact and set this stuff up better? Do I have to reinstall? Everything runs great as is though!

Thanks for any help.

-Jake
JakeUT
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE - partitioning question

Postby azathoth on Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:08 pm

It's good practice to do so but not critical. A single partition will work fine.
Don't worry about changing your current setup, it would be easier to start clean if you want to add partitions for /var, /home, etc.
Last edited by azathoth on Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: LMDE - partitioning question

Postby vrkalak on Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:18 pm

You can use gparted anytime . . . but, you have to use the partition editor from 'outside' the OS.

Use the same LiveCD you used to install Mint, in the first place ... you can then edit from the "Live" feature.
(You cannot edit/change any partition if you are using it.)

If Mint is the "only" OS on the computer you don't even need a SWAP partition.

I have LMDE on my netbook ... one big partition and no swap.
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: LMDE - partitioning question

Postby JakeUT on Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:37 pm

That's a relief. Thanks for the replies!
JakeUT
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:36 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests