[SOLVED]Cannot start Synaptic from menu: Mouse block warning

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED]Cannot start Synaptic from menu: Mouse block warning

Postby Archdevil on Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:17 am

Hi all!

I have a clean new LMDE installation and I have upgraded my system to the latest packages.
I gave root a password, because I am not a huge sudo fan.

When I try to start synaptic from the menu, I see a task running on my tastbar, getting autorisation (I cannot show the correct English text, because I run LMDE with a Dutch interface) and after a few seconds I get a message in a window, telling me that the mouse could not be blocked, and something about the focus being on another program).
Like I said, the original text was in Dutch, so I cannot show the correct English text here.

After I get the error message, I close the windows, but synaptic does not start. I can start synaptic from the commandline (after SU to root).

What could be the problem and how can I correct it?

Thanks!
Archie :twisted:
Last edited by Archdevil on Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Archdevil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:52 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cannot start Synaptic from menu: Mouse block warning

Postby Imagus on Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:53 am

Archdevil wrote:Hi all!

I have a clean new LMDE installation and I have upgraded my system to the latest packages.
I gave root a password, because I am not a huge sudo fan.

When I try to start synaptic from the menu, I see a task running on my tastbar, getting autorisation (I cannot show the correct English text, because I run LMDE with a Dutch interface) and after a few seconds I get a message in a window, telling me that the mouse could not be blocked, and something about the focus being on another program).
Like I said, the original text was in Dutch, so I cannot show the correct English text here.

After I get the error message, I close the windows, but synaptic does not start. I can start synaptic from the commandline (after SU to root).

What could be the problem and how can I correct it?

Thanks!
Archie :twisted:


Coud it be that Synaptic is warning you that another installation program is also running? I sometimes get this warning when I use Synaptic with another program that's trying to install something. However I don't see what this has got to do with the mouse...

Post the text in Dutch anyway (ik ben ook Nederlandstalig, dus ga je gang), I'll translate it for the others if necessary.
User avatar
Imagus
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Cannot start Synaptic from menu: Mouse block warning

Postby azathoth on Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:55 am

Hmmm, that's a new one. I have however, seen Synaptic break after a dist-upgrade before. It sometimes happens if Synaptic, dpkg or apt themselves were part of the upgrade. It's usually best to do those by themselves from runlevel 3. Anyway, simply reinstalling Synaptic will usually fix it.
Having the root account enabled wouldn't have anything to do with it.
arch | kernel26-lqx | kde 4.7.0 & xfce 4.8.1(tiling)
"Sacred cows make the best hamburger." ~ Mark Twain
MyLast.fm
User avatar
azathoth
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Cannot start Synaptic from menu: Mouse block warning

Postby rc10b on Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:13 am

Archdevil wrote:Hi all!

I have a clean new LMDE installation and I have upgraded my system to the latest packages.
I gave root a password, because I am not a huge sudo fan.

When I try to start synaptic from the menu, I see a task running on my tastbar, getting autorisation (I cannot show the correct English text, because I run LMDE with a Dutch interface) and after a few seconds I get a message in a window, telling me that the mouse could not be blocked, and something about the focus being on another program).
Like I said, the original text was in Dutch, so I cannot show the correct English text here.

After I get the error message, I close the windows, but synaptic does not start. I can start synaptic from the commandline (after SU to root).

What could be the problem and how can I correct it?

Thanks!
Archie :twisted:


I had this problem with synaptic and also the Menu would stay displayed after I had selected an item. I solved both issues by deleting
Code: Select all
~/.gconf

This may have been a bit overkill as your personalised desktop settings will be lost but I had only just installed LMDE so it was not an issue for me. You could try deleting individual directories within ~/.gonf to find the culprit. The directory gets recreated with default settings the next time you login.
As an experiment you can create a new user and see whether your problem exists with this new user and it's default desktop.
rc10b
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:30 am

Re: Cannot start Synaptic from menu: Mouse block warning

Postby Archdevil on Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:49 pm

Problem solved by removing ~/.gconf


Thanks!

Regards,

Archie
Archdevil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:52 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests