[SOLVED] ALT-F2 doesn't work anymore

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] ALT-F2 doesn't work anymore

Postby Imagus on Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:06 am

Hi,

I sometimes used ALT-F2 to enter sudo su en get root-access. However, when I press ALT-F2 now, nothing happens anymore. I can press the keys all I want, the result is absolutely nothing. I rebooted a few times, I even tried ignoring the problem for a week or so, hoping it would magically fix itself somehow, but to no avail. Did I break something and how can I get it to function again?

Thank you.
Last edited by Imagus on Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Imagus
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: ALT-F2 doesn't work anymore

Postby Serendipity on Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:45 am

Did you check System>Preference>Keyboard Shortcuts? See if the default key combination has changed for "Show the panels "Run Application" dialog box" .
Serendipity
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:38 pm

Re: ALT-F2 doesn't work anymore

Postby cecar on Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:40 pm

Go to Control panel, compiz config and set a checkmark in Gnome Compabitility.
cecar
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: ALT-F2 doesn't work anymore

Postby mads on Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:17 pm

cecar wrote:Go to Control panel, compiz config and set a checkmark in Gnome Compabitility.

My "Gnome Compatibility" check-box is unchecked, but ALT-F2 works!
User avatar
mads
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1309
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: ALT-F2 doesn't work anymore

Postby Imagus on Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:40 pm

@cecar: This worked, thank you!

@Serendipity: There is no line ""Show the panels "Run Application" dialog box" in my Keyboard shortcuts. I suppose I could have added it, but my problem seems to be solved with the Compiz setting.

Thank you.
User avatar
Imagus
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: [SOLVED] ALT-F2 doesn't work anymore

Postby cecar on Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:02 pm

No Problem.. Happy to be able to help once in a while.. :)
cecar
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests