LMDE - Romeo

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

LMDE - Romeo

Postby nixie21 on Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:14 pm

I have been using LMDE since it came out. Is Romeo enabled by default?

If not, I guess I should have it enabled? Why or why not?

If yes, how do I enable it?

Thanks so much!!!!!!!!
nixie21
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE - Romeo

Postby asymmetros on Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:37 pm

I have Romeo enabled from the very first moment. No problems so far. It brought me updates for the Mint Menu, and the other Mint tools, even before Julia. You can activate it this way:

Alt + F1 > System > Administration > Software Sources.

Then, from the tab "Linux Mint Software", enable "Unstable Packages (Romeo)" (just click in the box)

When you finish with this, run the Update Manager (from the panel, Notification Area or through System > Administration > Update Manager :D
Sid Mint Xfce -32, Openbox, KDE, Enlightenment, Liquorix Kernel
HP Compaq Presario cq71, Intel Core 2 Duo T4400 @ 2.2 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 103M
asymmetros
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:34 pm
Location: athens

Re: LMDE - Romeo

Postby nixie21 on Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:41 pm

Thanks for this, I will try it tonight!!!
nixie21
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: LMDE - Romeo

Postby kwisher on Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:28 pm

I enabled the Romeo repo's and now my menu has no icons. Any ideas on how to fix this?
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: LMDE - Romeo

Postby jeffreyC on Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:36 pm

The icon sizing changed to pixels, the fix has been posted at least twice in the forum.
I'm not using LMDE so I don't know it myself but it is here, just look for it.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: LMDE - Romeo

Postby Carl on Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:52 pm

kwisher wrote:I enabled the Romeo repo's and now my menu has no icons. Any ideas on how to fix this?


jeffreyC wrote:The icon sizing changed to pixels, the fix has been posted at least twice in the forum.
I'm not using LMDE so I don't know it myself but it is here, just look for it.


It's in the Mint 10 & LMDE FAQ blog Post --> http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1559

Clem wrote:- After upgrading to Mint 10, my menu icons are tiny…

–> The size of the icons is now expressed in pixels. Right-click the menu, go to Preferences and change the icon sizes for favorites, applications, system and places to your liking (we personally recommend 48, 22, 16, 16).
[AMD Sempron 145 2.8GHz + Unlocked 2nd Core|ATI Radeon™ HD3000 Graphics|4GB DDR3|Biostar A780L3L]
Image
User avatar
Carl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Re: LMDE - Romeo

Postby nixie21 on Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:57 pm

Thanks for the help...all is good with Romeo!!!
nixie21
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: LMDE - Romeo

Postby kwisher on Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:34 am

Carl wrote:
kwisher wrote:I enabled the Romeo repo's and now my menu has no icons. Any ideas on how to fix this?


jeffreyC wrote:The icon sizing changed to pixels, the fix has been posted at least twice in the forum.
I'm not using LMDE so I don't know it myself but it is here, just look for it.


It's in the Mint 10 & LMDE FAQ blog Post --> http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1559

Clem wrote:- After upgrading to Mint 10, my menu icons are tiny…

–> The size of the icons is now expressed in pixels. Right-click the menu, go to Preferences and change the icon sizes for favorites, applications, system and places to your liking (we personally recommend 48, 22, 16, 16).


Thanks Carl, that did the trick!!
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests