Root password required to shutdown?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Root password required to shutdown?

Postby Carl on Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:13 am

basically the title says it all =/

Why is the root password needed to shutdown sometimes? and how do I disable it if it's a feature rather then a bug :roll:
[AMD Sempron 145 2.8GHz + Unlocked 2nd Core|ATI Radeon™ HD3000 Graphics|4GB DDR3|Biostar A780L3L]
Image
User avatar
Carl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Root password required to shutdown?

Postby sumski on Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:44 am

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=58728



ALT+f2 --> gksu gedit /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.consolekit.policy

last section:
<action id="org.freedesktop.consolekit.system.restart-multiple-users">
<description>Restart the system when multiple users are logged in</description>
<message>System policy prevents restarting the system when other users are logged in</message>
<defaults>
<allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
<allow_active>auth_admin_keep</allow_active>
</defaults>
</action>


change no to yes

if you want remove password asking when you want shutdown the system then change no to yes in this section:
<action id="org.freedesktop.consolekit.system.stop-multiple-users">
<description>Stop the system when multiple users are logged in</description>
<message>System policy prevents stopping the system when other users are logged in</message>
<defaults>
<allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
<allow_active>auth_admin_keep</allow_active>
</defaults>
</action>


i think there's a bug , when using sudo/su/gksu , not sure witch of those , or when using all, root user is "inactive" , and polkit ask for password because two users are logged in..
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Root password required to shutdown?

Postby specmod0 on Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:53 pm

its annoying..
specmod0
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 1:48 pm

Re: Root password required to shutdown?

Postby Carl on Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:32 pm

Thanks sumski think that fixed it =]
[AMD Sempron 145 2.8GHz + Unlocked 2nd Core|ATI Radeon™ HD3000 Graphics|4GB DDR3|Biostar A780L3L]
Image
User avatar
Carl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Re: Root password required to shutdown?

Postby robert-e on Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:41 pm

Had this problem.
Did the fix; and checked that fix was properly applied (and saved)
Started Update Manager and did updates
Attempted to shutdown..alas still have the problem.
Rechecked that fix was still in effect (after the updates)...was

What to do?

Regards,
Bob


Edit...Damned policyKit...I wonder if PolicyKit was written by the same guy as PackageKit??
B
robert-e
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:38 am

Re: Root password required to shutdown?

Postby sumski on Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:06 pm

can't reproduce.
i had the same trouble a while back; i'm now using polkit-1 from experimental with both "allow inactive" values set to no , and it doesn't asks for password...

did you restart? or at least killed X server? try changing both "allow inactive" and "allow active" to yes (make a backup before that :) )
Last edited by sumski on Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Root password required to shutdown?

Postby sumski on Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:08 pm

my bad :)
try changing both allow_auth_admin to yes , and leave the "no" value as it is
if that isn't working try both values as yes
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Root password required to shutdown?

Postby robert-e on Sun Nov 28, 2010 2:14 pm

Yes, I rebooted; serveral times, in fact. No joy. Thanks for your other suggestions, but I think I will not twiddle with those, as I do not understand the ramifications. Not a big deal, and I will await it's subsequent fix later.
Regards,
Bob
robert-e
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:38 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests