[Solved] MLDE comes with Grub legacy?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[Solved] MLDE comes with Grub legacy?

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:38 am

Hi at all!
In this forum we have a big problem with LMDE, to solve it, we must kow, if LMDE comes with Grub or Grub2; I suppose it is Grub 0.97 (some people say Grub legacy).
Please answer as soon as possible!
In many distributions the command
Code: Select all
grub-install -v
shows the version.
A second possibility is to copy/ paste "findGrub" into a terminal and see the result; I will search for the command and attach it later on.
lauren

Edit: Here is "findGrub":
Code: Select all
sudo fdisk -l 2>/dev/null | egrep "Disk /|/dev/" | sed "s#^/dev/#Part /dev/#" | awk '{print $2}' | sed 's/://' | xargs -n1 -IX sudo sh -c "hexdump -v -s 0x80 -n  2 -e '2/1 \"%x\" \"\\n\"' X | xargs -n1 -IY sh -c \"case  \"Y\" in '48b4') echo X: GRUB 2 v1.96 ;; 'aa75' | '5272') echo X: GRUB Legacy ;; '7c3c') echo X: GRUB 2 v1.97 or higher ;; *) echo X: No GRUB Y ;; esac\""
Last edited by lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:54 am, edited 2 times in total.
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: MLDE comes with Grub legacy?

Postby viking777 on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:02 am

LMDE comes with grub2 I can assure you. No fancy commands needed to find that out, just open /boot/grub and have a look!
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: MLDE comes with Grub legacy?

Postby wayne128 on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:09 am

I installed 5 times on LMDE to various computers and laptops, I am 100% sure it is grub2 by default.
I am now running LMDE and post results of commands for other readers.

wayne@inspiron580s-desktop ~ $ sudo grub-install -v
[sudo] password for wayne:
grub-install (GRUB) 1.98+20100710-1
wayne@inspiron580s-desktop ~ $ ls /boot/grub/menu.lst
ls: cannot access /boot/grub/menu.lst: No such file or directory
wayne@inspiron580s-desktop ~ $
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: MLDE comes with Grub legacy?

Postby lauren on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:19 am

Hi!
Problem solved!
Thank you very much, then I can help riki.
lauren
lauren
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:50 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests