Menu not showing in Mate 13

Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby Ogmios on Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:11 pm

Hi. I have a bug that is driving me crazy. Everytime I log in, the first time I open the menu, it only displays the shadow, but not the menu itself. However, when I "close" it and reopen, the second time works perfect and it does not show this bug until the next login.

I am using Mint 13 Mate in a Gateway EC1430u installed from Mint4win. The graphics processor is Intel and I have 3 Gb of RAM, so I do not think it is a hardware problem.

¿Any ideas of how can I prevent this from happening?

Sorry for my English if I made a spell mistake.

I leave a picture of the bug where you can see the shadow. Thanks for your help.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1340906984.720606.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1340906984.720606.jpg (188.42 KiB) Viewed 2864 times
Ogmios
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby Monsta on Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:06 am

Ogmios wrote:Everytime I log in, the first time I open the menu, it only displays the shadow, but not the menu itself. However, when I "close" it and reopen, the second time works perfect and it does not show this bug until the next login.

Hmm, so the Ubuntu-based edition has this bug too... that's interesing. (Here's the thread about the same issue in LMDE - viewtopic.php?f=219&t=106008).
I can't reproduce it neither in LMDE nor in Mint 13. But I've used VirtualBox in both cases to test this. Can you please test it in VirtualBox and confirm if it happens there too?
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2330
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby Ogmios on Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:03 am

Thanks for your answer Monsta. I will try it on VMware and Virtualbox as soon as I go home and post the results.
Ogmios
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby mpiter on Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:53 pm

I have exactly the same problem with only a shadow at the first menu call, then everything is normal. It does not drive me crazy though because it happens only once per session.
mpiter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:24 pm

Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby Ogmios on Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:19 pm

I tryed to reproduce the error in VMware with no success.

You are right about I should not worry because it only happens one time and everything else works flawless but I would like to solve it.

Since it is a Mint4win install I will re-install it and see if it happens again, and I will post the result in a couple of days. Maybe if I reinstall it does not happen again.. Who knows.

Thanks.
Ogmios
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby mpiter on Thu Jul 05, 2012 1:42 am

I updated yesterday my computer and the problem seems solved. The menu popped up the first time I clicked it after login in this morning. I will see whether it is a real fix or just luck for my current session.
mpiter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby Monsta on Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:19 am

So... has it been fixed with the update (and what version is it now)?
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2330
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby mpiter on Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:18 am

Monsta wrote:So... has it been fixed with the update (and what version is it now)?


The regular Linux Mint 13 mate version updated at level 3 with the update manager. I only saw the bug once during the last 10 days.
mpiter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:24 pm

Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby Ogmios on Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:01 am

Ok. For me it has something to do with Genome Composition. As soon as I disable it, the bug desapear. Maybe it is all because of the Mint4win instalation and it does not happen in a "real" instalation.
Ogmios
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby mpiter on Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:55 pm

I am running a "real" installation and the bug nevertheless happens once in a while.
mpiter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby Wouter on Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:22 am

Hi, I was experiencing the same issue of the menu occasionally not showing. This problem seems to be solved after having removed the Cairo-dock (and replaced it with the Avant Window Navigator).
Wouter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:17 am

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby mpiter on Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:00 am

Wouter wrote:Hi, I was experiencing the same issue of the menu occasionally not showing. This problem seems to be solved after having removed the Cairo-dock (and replaced it with the Avant Window Navigator).


I do not use any dock and I still have the bug. It might be due to Gnome Composition as Ogmios pointed out. Did you use Cairo Dock with or without OpenGL? As I previously wrote, the bug is not too annoying so I do not investigate it anymore.
mpiter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby slash on Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:38 pm

I know this thread is a bit old, but it's still relevant! I would like to offer an additional solution in case the simple disabiling of MATE's compositing doesn't work.

I had this same issue start yesterday after I enabled compositing on my MATE desktop. However, after I attempted to disable compositing, the issue persisted. I had to open the Configuration Editor and manually edit the Marco configuration to fix it.

Here's what I did for those that can't get this fixed:

1. Make sure the Use compositing box is unchecked in Preferences > Desktop Settings > Windows before continuing.

Screenshot-Desktop Settings.png
Desktop Settings screenshot
Screenshot-Desktop Settings.png (34.34 KiB) Viewed 1877 times


2. Open Terminal and type mateconf-editor then press Enter. This opens up the Configuration Editor.

3. Navigate to apps > marco > general.

4. Make sure the compositing_manager box is unchecked in the right pane then exit out of the editor.

Screenshot-Configuration Editor - general.png
Configuration Editor screenshot
Screenshot-Configuration Editor - general.png (93.61 KiB) Viewed 1877 times


5. Press CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE to log out. This also restarts the X window system. Log back in and this issue should be fixed.

You may have to repeat steps 2-5 if the "Use compositing" box was checked before attempting this fix. I'm not sure why but the compositing_manager box was still checked and I had to repeat those steps to take care of it. This was why I was having the shadowy, invisible menu issue. Annoying bug. Eventually it'll be patched. Best of luck!
slash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby mpiter on Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:51 pm

Thanks for the solution. Oddly enough, I still use the Mate Compositing feature and have not suffered from this bug for months. That is maybe because I use Compiz with Mate. I also enabled the Compositing feature in Compiz. God only knows why I have not seen this bug for months!
mpiter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby SteveIDusa on Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:47 pm

I can also confirm that I have seen this bug, not only in Mint 13 Mate, but also in Mint 14 Mate, both 64-bit, I also recently upgraded my Video Card from AMD HD 4670 to Nvidia GT 640, with either card it was present, so this is not hardware related. I also sometimes get shadow artifacts after popup Titles after hovering my mouse pointer over an Icon. I however use a dock and it of course requires compositing to display it correctly. Has anyone found any other fixes for this?
For me it started with Linux Mint 6, and there is no going back
User avatar
SteveIDusa
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:37 pm
Location: USA

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby RitterRunkel on Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:48 am

Still buggy in Mate 15!: x64, Intel i3-3 (HD4000), compositing active. Only the shadow of the start menu is visible, when opening it for the first time ...

Had to deactivate compositing to get rid of it. Well, let's wait for Mate 16 ... ^^
RitterRunkel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:43 am

Re: Menu not showing in Mate 13

Postby LinWinux on Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:34 am

mpiter wrote:I have exactly the same problem with only a shadow at the first menu call, then everything is normal. It does not drive me crazy though because it happens only once per session.

Same here. Mint 15 with 64bit and Mate Desktop ... Real Mint 15 installation on a freshly formattd partition ... after a restart only the shadow of the Mint Menu shows up the first time that it's being used. But like you, I can totally live with that as just about everything else runs perfectly and since it only takes a second to hit the menu key a second time. It is a bit odd though, isn't it? You'd think that this might have been found & corrected between Miint 13, 14, and 15 ...
I won't disable compositing since I really like that feature (in lieu of installing full-blown Compiz).
PLEASE ... Don't respond to questions with meaningless or thoughtless comments!
PLEASE ... Help others, don't be lazy! Take a moment to mark your post SOLVED if you received a solution.
User avatar
LinWinux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:04 pm
Location: East Coast

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to MATE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests