(Solved)Lost desktop in reinstall

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
BoDill
Level 5
Level 5

(Solved)Lost desktop in reinstall

Post by BoDill »

Hello,

This might be a newbie question, but it regards the Desktop, so here goes.

I have had some trouble with a MATE 13 install, and have been in these forums with problems for weeks (put "BoDill" in the search window to see a list of them), and I recently did a complete reinstall of Maya 13 MATE 32bit after downloading everything I could think of to a USB stick. After the reinstall, I wanted to reload my desktop, which had a lot of icons (if that's the right word) on it from the first few weeks of troubleshooting. I have found the "desktop" reference in my backup stuff, but it only has a few of the icons with it. If this is not stated clearly, it's because I am a true newbie, and barely know what I am doing. Basically, I had hoped to save the desktop so that I could repopulate the new install with the same desktop stuff that I had from before (does this make sense or should I find another way to say it?).

Is there a good way to do this? I ask because I am still having extreme problems with startup, so I finally broke down and ordered a couple of installation disks (one for Mint 13 and one for Mint 17) to see if they solve my problem. Actually, I am hoping that the disks will give me a clean install without the constant log on problems that I've been having (I often have constant scrolling when i start my computer). If the Mint 13 install works well, I will also try out Mint 17, and knowing how to save my desktop would be very encouraging.

Any help?
BoDill
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Desktop: OptiPlex-790 ; Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia Mate (Renew 2027)