Problem after updates no startmenu + more :(

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
benny999

Problem after updates no startmenu + more :(

Post by benny999 »

hi guys im new to linux mint and im running it in vmware i have been mucking around with now i updated it and after i have done that and restarted it now i have no start menu and i cant click anything also the only shortcut that works is ctrl+alt+backspace back to the login screen were i can login via gnome and that works fine i did notice while i was random clicking in the Cinnamon then transferred to gnome that i had made a bunch of new folders so i think its still click just not showing it up. i have tried uninstallign Cinnamon and reinstalling it via syntaics .

i have attached a picture to show you what it looks like thanks very much for any help

spec
vmware 9.0
linux mint 14.1 Cinnamon
all the latest updates(after this is what caused this starting to happen)

edit: Cinnanmon 2d works fine also
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
AlqasimO

Re: Problem after updates no startmenu + more :(

Post by AlqasimO »

Please post the output of inxi -Gx

There have been reports of this happening after an update for people with proprietary graphics drivers installed. Usually solved by reinstalling the drivers.

Can you get to the terminal by pressing Ctrl + Alt + t
benny999

Post by benny999 »

thanks but that didn't fix it :( not sure what's going on I installed the 32bit version and updated it didn't have a issue I'm not sure what's going on
benny999

Post by benny999 »