Setting terminal on desktop background

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Setting terminal on desktop background

Postby fresh on Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:25 am

Is it possible to set a terminal on the desktop background in Cinnamon? Would we need applications like devilspie to achieve this or can it be done more elegantly with the Mutter window manager?
fresh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:32 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Setting terminal on desktop background

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:52 am

It is an interesting idea. I presume you want a working terminal, not just a picture of a terminal? The later would be very easy the former nowhere near so.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Setting terminal on desktop background

Postby fresh on Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:19 pm

viking777 wrote:It is an interesting idea. I presume you want a working terminal, not just a picture of a terminal? The later would be very easy the former nowhere near so.


So Cinnamon is still too new to do that kind of thing? I'm wondering, can I use an alternative window manager and try to achieve something similar? Would there be any problems with a setup like that in Cinnamon?
fresh
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:32 am

Re: Setting terminal on desktop background

Postby viking777 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:31 am

Don't get the wrong impression fresh, just because I don't know how to do what you ask doesn't mean that it can't be done.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Setting terminal on desktop background

Postby elgeeko on Thu May 08, 2014 4:07 pm

I had to dig this old post up... I am interested in something like this as well, and there is a way to make that work with compiz under mate and ubuntu: http://www.webupd8.org/2009/05/ubuntu-embed-terminal-into-you-desktop.html

But from what i read today compiz and cinnamon don't mix? Haven't tryed it out though on my Min 16 Cinnamon pc because im to scared to brake something :lol:
elgeeko
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:58 pm


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: heyyou325 and 8 guests