cinnamon + kde

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

cinnamon + kde

Postby sujitnag on Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:38 pm

I use LM 13 (64 bit) cinnamon (1.6.7) desktop. now I want to use kde. so I want to install plasma desktop through synaptic. but I found that 17 package will be upgraded.
I don't want to destroy my cinnamon desktop environment. and add kde desktop environmen.
this upgrade destroy my cinnamon or not?

help me.......................................
User avatar
sujitnag
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: cinnamon + kde

Postby caf4926 on Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:45 am

sujitnag wrote:I use LM 13 (64 bit) cinnamon (1.6.7) desktop. now I want to use kde. so I want to install plasma desktop through synaptic. but I found that 17 package will be upgraded.
I don't want to destroy my cinnamon desktop environment. and add kde desktop environmen.
this upgrade destroy my cinnamon or not?

help me.......................................


Typically it should be OK
But typically I never install multiple desktops together and I just put the reason for that down to experience....
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: cinnamon + kde

Postby Orbmiser on Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:48 am

Same here there can be some annoying bugs and bumps mixing DE's.
I always backup my Mint Cinnamon partitions then clean install Mint KDE and then back that up after everything is setup and installed.
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: cinnamon + kde

Postby sujitnag on Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:34 am

How can I do it?
cinnamon+ kde.
User avatar
sujitnag
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:25 pm

Re: cinnamon + kde

Postby caf4926 on Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:43 am

Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: cinnamon + kde

Postby sujitnag on Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:42 am

kde- plasma-desktop should be install. but kde my slow down your system. so I download lxde (only 12 mb). fast nice
User avatar
sujitnag
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:25 pm

Re: cinnamon + kde

Postby Orbmiser on Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:47 am

sujitnag wrote:kde- plasma-desktop should be install. but kde my slow down your system. so I download lxde (only 12 mb). fast nice


Nope that's FUD I use to spread that KDE was a resource hog and is bloated.

From actually trying it the FUD is far from the truth. KDE is faster and snappier than my Cinnamon was.
xfce is pretty light but not by a huge factor as my KDE rolls in at 432mb with Weather & Gmail plasmoids running.
.
User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: cinnamon + kde

Postby sujitnag on Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:05 am

Orbmiser wrote:
sujitnag wrote:kde- plasma-desktop should be install. but kde my slow down your system. so I download lxde (only 12 mb). fast nice


Nope that's FUD I use to spread that KDE was a resource hog and is bloated.

From actually trying it the FUD is far from the truth. KDE is faster and snappier than my Cinnamon was.
xfce is pretty light but not by a huge factor as my KDE rolls in at 432mb with Weather & Gmail plasmoids running.
.


First i really want to use kde/cinnamon/etc. due to installation confusion i restrict myself. because I am very new in this system.
User avatar
sujitnag
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests