I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby InkKnife on Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:45 pm

Like a bird drawn to a shiny object I could not resist doing a PPA install of Cinnamon 2.0.
Dispite all the bad reports I still did it.
Running Mint15, is there any way to just purge Cinnamon and reinstall?
User avatar
InkKnife
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby nomko on Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:58 am

Do you want to reinstall the original Cinnamon which came with Mint 15? That's easy:

In synaptic:
remove Cinnamon 2.0
remove the PPA of Cinnamon 2.0
reload all packages
reinstall the original cinnamon
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)*Mint 16

Copy.com

I don't need Google, my wife knows everthing!
User avatar
nomko
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1935
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby InkKnife on Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:41 pm

nomko wrote:Do you want to reinstall the original Cinnamon which came with Mint 15? That's easy:

In synaptic:
remove Cinnamon 2.0
remove the PPA of Cinnamon 2.0
reload all packages
reinstall the original cinnamon

Ya, I already did that and the removal failed with a report of irreparable packages. I can deal with using XFCE till Mint16 next month.
Live and learn.
User avatar
InkKnife
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby JosephM on Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:43 pm

I have been using the cinnamon nightlies for a couple months without issues. In fact I just did a fresh install two days ago and added them and they work fine. Over the past weekend there were some build errors for the ppa on launchpad that would leave you stuck in fallback mode after an update. They seem to be working fine again now.
JosephM
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests