change Cinnamon default terminal

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

change Cinnamon default terminal

Postby ledzgio on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:51 am

Hi,

I would like to set Terminator as the default terminal in Cinnamon instead of Gnome terminal. How can I do this? I want to cinnamon opens Terminator instead of gnome terminal when clicking on menu Open in Terminal.

edit: I tried with "sudo update-alternatives --config x-terminal-emulator" and selected Terminator as default terminal but nothing (I have also restarted cinnamon).

thanks
ledzgio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:56 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: change Cinnamon default terminal

Postby caribriz on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:48 pm

Hi ledzgio,

This worked for me -

Open terminal and enter:

Code: Select all
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec /usr/bin/terminator
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec-arg "-x"


From here:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16808231/how-do-i-set-default-terminal-to-terminator
Image
Desktop: C2D E6400 / Asus P5LD2SE / 2GB ram / Asus GeForce 210 / 320GB (WinXP) & 1TB (Mint - various)
Laptop: Asus A53E-SX1455V - i5 2450M / 4GB ram / Intel HD 3000 / 500GB (Win7/Mint 13 Cinnamon)
caribriz
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:43 am

Re: change Cinnamon default terminal

Postby ledzgio on Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:41 am

caribriz wrote:Hi ledzgio,

This worked for me -

Open terminal and enter:

Code: Select all
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec /usr/bin/terminator
gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec-arg "-x"


From here:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16808231/how-do-i-set-default-terminal-to-terminator


Thanks for the reply. I solved the problem, I did what you suggested but I also had to enter:

gsettings set org.cinnamon.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec /usr/bin/terminator

ledz
ledzgio
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:56 am

Re: change Cinnamon default terminal

Postby caribriz on Fri Nov 15, 2013 4:32 pm

Oh, ok ...

I didn't have to enter the "cinnamon" line:
gsettings set org.cinnamon.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec /usr/bin/terminator

I was using LM15 Cinnamon, cinnamon version 1.8.
The "gnome" lines posted above on their own worked ok (for me) :?
Image
Desktop: C2D E6400 / Asus P5LD2SE / 2GB ram / Asus GeForce 210 / 320GB (WinXP) & 1TB (Mint - various)
Laptop: Asus A53E-SX1455V - i5 2450M / 4GB ram / Intel HD 3000 / 500GB (Win7/Mint 13 Cinnamon)
caribriz
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:43 am


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cecar, murdock72 and 15 guests