How to move Tomboy Notes to system tray area? [solved]

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

How to move Tomboy Notes to system tray area? [solved]

Postby aneurysm1985 on Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:33 pm

In previous Linux MInt installations (e.g. Mint 13, which I just upgraded from), Tomboy Notes would automatically start with my PC at startup. There would be an icon in the 'system tray' area which I could click on to 'create a new note', or to edit a recently-created note. A bit like this, except my system tray used to be down the bottom of the screen.

After upgrading to Mint 16 Cinnamon, I am struggling to restore this functionality to my system. Currently Tomboy only wants to operate as a standard application in the taskbar like this.

My question is: how do I add Tomboy to the system tray area, so that it is next to all of my other applets at startup? Thanks in advance!
Last edited by aneurysm1985 on Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
aneurysm1985
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to move Tomboy Notes to system tray area?

Postby caribriz on Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:12 am

aneurysm1985 wrote: how do I add Tomboy to the system tray area, so that it is next to all of my other applets at startup?


Try this -
Go to Menu > Preferences > Startup Applications
On the right of the window, click Add
Add Startup Program window opens ...
fill in:
Name: Tomboy Notes
Command: tomboy
click Add

On restart, Tomboy Notes should be displayed in System Tray.

Image
Image
Desktop: C2D E6400 / Asus P5LD2SE / 2GB ram / Asus GeForce 210 / 320GB (WinXP) & 1TB (Mint - various)
Laptop: Asus A53E-SX1455V - i5 2450M / 4GB ram / Intel HD 3000 / 500GB (Win7/Mint 13 Cinnamon)
caribriz
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:43 am

Re: How to move Tomboy Notes to system tray area?

Postby aneurysm1985 on Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:02 am

Thanks for the solution.

I had considered doing that, but I assumed that the software would simply appear in the taskbar, rather than in the system tray.
aneurysm1985
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 6:28 am
Location: Australia


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests