menu editing problem

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
aliab

menu editing problem

Post by aliab »

hi,
im new to linux, i installed mint 16 with cinnamon desktop,
my problem is about editing menu, when i add item to it, nothing happen! i run the menu editor with terminal to see the problems, but, there isn't any error in the terminal at the time i do item adding,
so, is there any body here know what is my problem?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20

Re: menu editing problem

Post by austin.texas »

Right-click on the Menu
choose Configure
click Open the Menu Editor
click on the Category that you want, on the left side
click on empty space or any program on the right side
click New Item
enter your command and info, save, and exit
Last edited by austin.texas on Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
twodogs
Level 4
Level 4

Post by twodogs »

aliab wrote:hi,
im new to linux, i installed mint 16 with cinnamon desktop,
my problem is about editing menu, when i add item to it, nothing happen! i run the menu editor with terminal to see the problems, but, there isn't any error in the terminal at the time i do item adding,
so, is there any body here know what is my problem?
Did you restart Cinnamon? Right click the panel and click 'Troubleshoot.' Hope this helps.
Co6aka

Post by Co6aka »

I confirm this issue (/bug?) even with the latest nightly build. The only way I can add/edit/delete items to/from the menu is manually in /usr/share/applications.