LM 17 not allowed to log into homestead cpanel??!!!

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

LM 17 not allowed to log into homestead cpanel??!!!

Postby Ysalys on Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:40 pm

Is there a way to fool a site like homestead.com into thinking your on a windows pc?
- I HAVE to get into the cpanel to setup and edit my client's website...
I'm running a Linux Mint 17. Really need help fast.

Thanks in advance for any solutions.
Ysalys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 8:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LM 17 not allowed to log into homestead cpanel??!!!

Postby Pierre on Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:33 pm

sounds a bit like Internet Banking requirements. ..
- is the need actually for a Windows O/S?
- or is it really a need for M$ie itself?.

if the later - then there are 'add-ons' for for both Firefox & Chrome, that fake the browser.
- these often work, very successfully.
Image
User avatar
Pierre
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: LM 17 not allowed to log into homestead cpanel??!!!

Postby Ysalys on Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:56 am

Pierre wrote:if the later - then there are 'add-ons' for for both Firefox & Chrome, that fake the browser.
- these often work, very successfully.


Thanks Pierre. I've searched and searched, and can't find an add-on in Firefox. Do you happen to know tha actual names of the add-ons, to help me get to it, or them?

...and no, don't need the Windows OS, just need to look like Windows to log into the control panel to get the website set up.

Wierd that all the other hosts have no issue with what kind of OS your running, but homestead won't allow Linux people to log in there. hmmm
Ysalys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: LM 17 not allowed to log into homestead cpanel??!!!

Postby jimallyn on Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:45 am

Have you tried the user agent switcher addon?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... -switcher/
jimallyn
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: LM 17 not allowed to log into homestead cpanel??!!!

Postby Ysalys on Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:18 pm

jimallyn wrote:Have you tried the user agent switcher addon?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... -switcher/

Okay, I gave up; that addon isn't compatable with this Firefox,
...so.... I went into Firefox to change it's settings.

Here's how to do that:

Type [ about:config ] into your URL bar - hit enter
Accept the next screen - click on the [ I'll be carefull, I promise! ] button
Then type [ useragent ] into the search bar on the configuration screen

note - Take a screenshot of your useragent searched configuration screen so you know how to put it back to what it was before you changed it...

You will then see this: note - sorry they don't accept pics wider than 320 px, so I have to show you the left side and the right sides seperately...
This is the left side of the screen:
Image
This is the right side of the same screen:
Image

Next, you will RIGHT click on the [ general.useragent.vendor ] line, and choose [ modify ]
Type in [ Firefox ] then hit [ OK ]
Then RIGHT click on the [ general.useragent.vendorComment ] line, and choose [ modify ]
Remove everything in that field to leave it blank, then hit [ OK ]
Then RIGHT click on the [general.useragent.vendorSub ] line and choose [ modify ]
Type in [ 28 ] then hit [ OK ] note - using any other version seems to not work with a lot of OS prejudiced sites, so WTH, use 28; it works.

This is what it should look like with the changes you made:
Left side of screen:
Image
Right side of screen:
Image

That's it! Now close your [ about:config ] tab, and you should be able to log into any website that is prejudiced against linux. :D

What you have done is the very same thing the addon would do, except the addon is automatic, and changes it back to the original configuration when you close Firefox.

PEASE Don't forget to change your [ about:config ] useragent modifications back to their original configuration before closing your Firefox, as Firefox has been tending to crash a lot more lately, and their programmers need to see what system you are using to fix the issues when these crashes happen. If you leave your modifications that way, they will be confused, and won't be able to fix your crash issues. ...not good..... :?

It'll also mess you up for any Firefox updates, so don't forget to put it all back the way you found it. lolol ie: reason for the screenshot before you made any changes
Ysalys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 8:58 pm


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests