App's menu bar in top panel?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

App's menu bar in top panel?

Postby bruce927 on Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:55 pm

I'm using cinnamon 1.2 on mint 12 in two panel mode, but this is leaving a lot of wasted blank space at the top of my screen. What I would really like to do is have a way of making the menu work somewhat like in OS X. Where rather than a window's menu bar being within the confines of the window, I can make it appear in cinnamon's top menu.

Is this possible at all?
bruce927
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: App's menu bar in top panel?

Postby mank_in on Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:03 am

search cinnamon setting in menu and run it. at panel tab you will see traditional, classic ( forgot one else )
after select you want to use. close cinnamon setting. reload cinnamon shell with logout and login again or press : alt + F2 , press r , enter.
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: App's menu bar in top panel?

Postby bruce927 on Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:55 am

I'm sorry, I think you misunderstood me.

I have set cinnamon up via the settings so that I have two bars. However, what I want is a way to be able to put an app's menu bar (File, Edit, etc.) in the top panel instead of in the window, such as how menu bars work in Mac OS X.
bruce927
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:51 pm

Re: App's menu bar in top panel?

Postby mank_in on Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:27 am

sorry , never try OS X :)
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: App's menu bar in top panel?

Postby cwwgateway on Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:55 am

That is called a global menu (they have that in unity), and right now it isn't possible in cinnamon. But, as time goes on, I think it will show up as an applet or extension or something.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm


Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests