Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby biggyk on Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:12 am

bu99zy wrote:
Lumikki wrote:The panel what has program icons or the list of running programs doesn't seem to move back to left?
Is there way to reset situation?


Open dconf-editor

If you haven't got it installed its

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install dconf-tools


org >> cinnamon >> enable-applets

look for

Code: Select all
 'panel1:center:11:window-list@cinnamon.org',


change it to

Code: Select all
 'panel1:left:11:window-list@cinnamon.org',


Picture, courtesy of ZeroZero


I have the classic panel mode set. How can I make the window list go to the bottom?

Nevermind figured it out. Just change to panel2
biggyk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby sandman_uz on Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:50 am

maybe not right place, but how I can fix it? time applet is moving bit down and update manager icon is too big.

theme Loki. and for theme author - great themes! but not all icons is same ) update manager - which icon r u using? i'm using ur Mint-Xtra pack... can u pls advice? Thanx!

http://i44.tinypic.com/eliqu.png
sandman_uz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:43 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby woodsmoke on Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:09 am

Hi
Big update today and I saw the update to cinnamon.
AMD Athlon 64 dual core 4200+ Nvidia 6600 with updated 173 driver, ahteros usb plugin wlan with antenna, onboard sound, all works although since this was a change from another machine, WHEN THE FIRST SCREEN WAS BLACK... there was white text saying "configuring wireless etc.".
USB HP1210 printer/scanner multifunction found.

It all just worked as far as bootup, configuring hardware etc.

Still only one theme in themes and the weather applet does not work. Clock and calendar work.

woodsmoke
woodsmoke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:46 am
Location: Midwest USA: "flyover country" for the elites of either coast USA

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby woodsmoke on Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:39 am

Aaaahhhhh cinnamony goodness....transparency theme installed!

Very straightforward! :D :D :D

woodsmoke
woodsmoke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:46 am
Location: Midwest USA: "flyover country" for the elites of either coast USA

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby SidharthaXx on Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:06 am

Just to feedback... issues I'm seeing with Cinnamon 1.3,

1. Alt + F2 then "r" is not working anymore... "command not found"

2. The power manager applet (battery icon for my laptop) keeps disappearing (after sleep mainly I have noticed). I have to keep rebooting the applet to see it.
SidharthaXx
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:54 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby bimsebasse on Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:27 am

1. Press the windows key, type "keyb", press enter, click the shortcuts tab in the opened keyboard settings dialog, under "system" see if "show the run command prompt" is enabled - if it isn't fill in "ALT+F2".

2. The power manager applet in 1.3 also doesn't show duration and the icon isn't too good - not sure what happened in the process from 1.2 to 1.3 there, but it wasn't a step ahead :/
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Alby on Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:34 am

hello i updated to cinnamon 1.3 and now i get this menu bar on desktop (see the screenshot) how to get ride of it?? http://i39.tinypic.com/4ktxn8.png
Alby
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:16 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby SidharthaXx on Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:36 am

bimsebasse,

Yes Alt + F2 is enabled... I get the prompt... but when I type "r" and hit return I get "command not found"...
SidharthaXx
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:54 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby gfreeau on Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:07 pm

Lumikki wrote:I have small bug. For some reason Mint update managers icon in bottom bar is wrong size. It's like 2 times bigger than any other icon.
At least in Baldr, Loki, Ambiance Mint and Ubuntu theme. Not in default theme. You see it after relogin.


Try editing .panel-status-button in cinnamon.css and add height: 16px. (This is what Minty does). You can change the hpadding sizes in this block to change the spacing of the status icons as well.

Does anyone know how to edit the icon size for other applets like trash, show desktop etc?
Image
gfreeau
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby kmb42vt on Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:18 pm

gfreeau wrote:
Lumikki wrote:I have small bug. For some reason Mint update managers icon in bottom bar is wrong size. It's like 2 times bigger than any other icon.
At least in Baldr, Loki, Ambiance Mint and Ubuntu theme. Not in default theme. You see it after relogin.


Try editing .panel-status-button in cinnamon.css and add height: 16px. (This is what Minty does). You can change the hpadding sizes in this block to change the spacing of the status icons as well.


See this:

viewtopic.php?f=208&t=91028&start=100#p543628

I've submitted this as a bug report on Github (cinnamon-themes) and also posted the text on the Cinnamon Themes thread in the forum.

Tried your fix and it works for Ambiance Mint so I'll have try it on the others as well. Many thanks! :D
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby kmb42vt on Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:18 pm

gfreeau wrote:
Lumikki wrote:I have small bug. For some reason Mint update managers icon in bottom bar is wrong size. It's like 2 times bigger than any other icon.
At least in Baldr, Loki, Ambiance Mint and Ubuntu theme. Not in default theme. You see it after relogin.


Try editing .panel-status-button in cinnamon.css and add height: 16px. (This is what Minty does). You can change the hpadding sizes in this block to change the spacing of the status icons as well.


See this:

viewtopic.php?f=208&t=91028&start=100#p543628

I've submitted this as a bug report on Github (cinnamon-themes) and also posted the text on the Cinnamon Themes thread in the forum.

Tried your fix and it works for Ambiance Mint so I'll have try it on the others as well. Many thanks! :D
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Daniel4lm on Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:40 pm

Daniel4lm
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby mrsebe2 on Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:04 pm

Alby wrote:hello i updated to cinnamon 1.3 and now i get this menu bar on desktop (see the screenshot) how to get ride of it?? http://i39.tinypic.com/4ktxn8.png


Same problem: http://imgur.com/HRfDv. It's probably related to recent gnome updates not the cinnamon itself. It appeared before cinnamon 1.3 was released when I installed all updates from mintupdate. Does anyone know how to get rid of it? That menu appears in both cinnamon and gnome session.
mrsebe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:53 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby clem on Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:02 pm

apt remove appmenu-gtk3 appmenu-gtk appmenu-qt
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby mrsebe2 on Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:14 pm

clem wrote:apt remove appmenu-gtk3 appmenu-gtk appmenu-qt


Thanks. Cinnamon 1.3 is great.
mrsebe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:53 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby SidharthaXx on Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:29 am

Sorry to bang on about this... but Alt + F2 "r" is no longer working on 1.3. as explained earlier in this thread.

Is this a known issues? I'm happy to sit tight until it's fixed if it is... otherwise I'd like to get this fixed.

Any info anyone?
SidharthaXx
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:54 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby aloysius on Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:43 am

Can you have taller panels now?
aloysius
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:25 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby Lumikki on Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:49 am


Yeah, I got it fixed by editing one line.

Thank you all for answers, everyting seem to be working fine now.
Asus P7P55D, i5 750 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR3, radeon 6540 (Gallium 0.4), 80GB Intel SSD, Dell 1920x1200, Dual boot, Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon, Windows 7
User avatar
Lumikki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:21 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby kmb42vt on Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:25 pm

SidharthaXx wrote:Sorry to bang on about this... but Alt + F2 "r" is no longer working on 1.3. as explained earlier in this thread.

Is this a known issues? I'm happy to sit tight until it's fixed if it is... otherwise I'd like to get this fixed.

Any info anyone?


I've tried to duplicate this problem and the only time I get a "Command not found" is if the "r" is capitalized. Otherwise, Alt + F2 "r" works as it's supposed to and restarts Cinnamon. Sorry I couldn't help.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby chazdg24 on Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:25 pm

Sammaul wrote:You do not need to go into dconf and manually input change...applets and menu icons can be moved by simple gui drag and drop

*edit* maybe not so simple, a little buggy but still can be done

- So far I find it terribly difficult, if not impossible to drag and drop anything in the menu.

- Alt+F2 does not work for me - a solution may have been mentioned previously so I will read the entire thread when time permits.

- Where is the themes file? Once I would show 'hidden files' in my previous install, it was quite easy to install themes.

- Where is the Weather App? I assume I need to download and install?

- The clock in the menu was fine and then it wasn't so I need to reconfigure it manually. Is that some sort of bug?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
chazdg24
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dogsanddemons and 10 guests