Weird bug on cinnamon

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby zangib on Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:59 pm

Hi, since I've installed cinnamon some months ago, I'm getting a weird bug when I open a pop-up dialog and close it very fast, when this happens I get a grey box which stays there even if I change the window.
Here's a screenshot:
Image
I think it has something to do with the desktop animations, but not sure. I don't care about this since I can easily remove it by closing the app which opened it or restarting the DE, but I've seen this:
http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/view/2330
This looks similar to what happens on my system so I think there's a bug.
I'm not requesting for help, just informing about the bug, if any additional data is needed to solve it, just tell me and I'll post it.
zangib
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:49 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby dagon on Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:01 pm

Hi!

Got here from the link on the Community site.
What version of cinnamon are you using?
what version of Mint are you using?
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby bimsebasse on Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:15 pm

That's a modal dialog (an empty one) and as such a gtk or Gnome 3 bug rather than a Cinnamon bug, I think (not sure).
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby ebettoni on Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:31 pm

I getting the same error:
- Linux Mint 12
- Cinnamon 1.4
Application affected: Google Earth 6.2.0.5905 (beta)
Radeon HD 4200

This bug happens every time I start the GE and the only way do "defreeze" is doing a Alt + F2 and "r".

I can't get this on Gnome Shell, it's only related to Cinnamon use.
ebettoni
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:47 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby zangib on Tue Mar 27, 2012 4:39 pm

Hi, I also have the problem with Google Earth and as far as i know, it only affects cinnamon.
I'm using right now Mint 12 with cinnamon 1.4, but this also happened with previous versions.
zangib
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby kahlil88 on Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:06 am

This sounds suspiciously like what I've been experiencing with Ex Falso and MP3Diags, the progress windows stick to the screen until I restart cinnamon.
There is no system but GNU and Linux is one of its kernels.
User avatar
kahlil88
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:47 am
Location: Mendocino, California

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby nacreous on Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:15 pm

just installed GE on LM13 Cinnamon and that weird grey pop-up appeared
didn't experience this on LM13 MATE

Google Earth 6.1.0.4857 (beta)

output from "inxi -G"
Code: Select all
inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS780D [Radeon HD 3300]
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: ati,fglrx (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,radeon) Resolution: 1366x768@59.8hz
           GLX Renderer: ATI Radeon HD 3300 Graphics GLX Version: 3.3.11627 - CPC
.::Mint 17 Xfce 64bit::.
nacreous
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:05 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby Condorman on Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:10 pm

I'm using Mint 13 Cinnamon, and have Google Earth installed from the Software Manager. I get the strange pop-up grey box at the top of the screen while using GE, and there it sits permanently unless I click to restart Cinnamon. This gets rid of it, but if I close GE and relaunch it, it will pop up again.
Condorman
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:08 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby Cordwainer Duck on Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:25 am

Hi folks. I'm seeing much the same problem with several apps that put up a splash screen on launch. The splash graphics clear, but I'm left with this black rectangle in the middle of the screen that sits on top of everything else. Closing the app doesn't remove it; nothing in system monitor; xkill terminates whatever window is under it; only way I've found to clear it is to restart the DE or log out/in. Not 100% consistent, but pretty reliable with Eclipse, MySQL Workbench, TheBrain (aka PersonalBrain), and a couple of others. Have not seen this with Unity or Gnome Shell (n.b.: just installed the latter, so little time using it as yet.)
Running Cinnamon 1.4 on Ubuntu Precise, nVidia graphics with proprietary driver.

Code: Select all
./inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G96 [GeForce 9600M GT]
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: nouveau,vesa,fbdev) Resolution: 1440x900@50.0hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce 9600M GT/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 295.40


Any / all thoughts appreciated.

CD
Cordwainer Duck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:16 pm

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby Garvan on Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:41 am

This is June 2012, and I think I have the same bug. This is what I see when I start Google earth

Image

Notice the empty dialogue box, blocking the view of everything underneath. This stays on top of other applications.

The advice above works - Alt + F2 and "r"

Can somebody tell me what this key combination does? It looks like a cinnamon restart.

Garvan
Desktop: Dell, Intel Core 2 Duo E7500 @ 2.93GHz, 2GiB RAM, Lubuntu 14.04 (trusty)
Notebook: HP 14 Notebook PC 14-r003TX, i5-4210U @ 1.7 GHz, 4GB RAM, Linux Mint 17
Notebook: DELL latitude E5520, i5-2520M @ 2.50 GHz, 4GB RAM, Windows 7
User avatar
Garvan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 3:26 am
Location: Lao PDR

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby c0dehunter on Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:38 am

Yes, it's cinnamon restart.

Anyways - I'm getting this bug too. Developers should look into it.
c0dehunter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:44 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby dalcde on Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:41 pm

It's fixed upstream (if memory serves). It should be solved when a new version of Cinnamon hits our repos.
dalcde
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 8:15 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby Condorman on Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:50 am

I think this might be a theme related bug, rather than an issue with Cinnamon generally. I switched to using Zukitwo top panel, with the Zukini window theme and Orion Gtk theme, and when I open Google Earth the empty dialogue box only briefly flashes up then disappears. Anyways, I'm glad to hear they've fixed it for the next release. :)
Condorman
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:08 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby Condorman on Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:37 pm

Scratch that, I was wrong. One reboot later and the problem was back. :D

NVM.
Condorman
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:08 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby skrage99 on Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:58 pm

This is strange, I seem to be having the same issue, and of course I can resolve it by hitting ALT+F2+r, but I'd rather not have to do that several times a day.

Does anyone know if there has been any sort of update on this issue?
-Shaun
skrage99
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:55 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby GerMulvey on Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:32 am

Any update on this issue as the grey box can be annoying and alt+F2 r is not really a solution just a stop gap fix

cinnamon 1.6.4+maya seems to have resolved but I also changed the theme to ambiance which may have had some bearing.
If it ain't broke - fix it anyway!
User avatar
GerMulvey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 4:48 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby boyoboyo on Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:48 am

I've also been experiencing this (although while using Eclipse pkg-config plugin).

Broke my cinnamon:
-Added romeo repo
-Installed Cinnamon 1.6.4 => broken Cinnamon.
-Removed Cinnamon 1.6.4, installed Cinnamon 1.4 => no more lower panel and windows are broken.

Installed Gnome3, logged into GNOME session, then issue resolved - no more gray box.

I can get used to GNOME3 :)

P.S.
I also use ATI Radeon HD (4xxx series).
boyoboyo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:40 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby pkas on Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:47 pm

puddletag (an MP3 tagging app in the repositories) triggers this orphaned window bug in Cinnamon/Maya on almost every operation.

Turning off Compiz window animations has no effect.

My guess is that some apps (such as puddletag) are not handling some X event in quite the right way, but have "gotten away with it" (not realizing it). And, something in Cinnamon is making that vulnerability visible. In the end, it might not be a Cinnamon bug, per se, but an app bug that Cinnamon exposes. It would be great if the Cinnamon folks could get together with (for example) the puddletag folks, since the problem seems to be extremely easy to reproduce. The insight they get from working together would likely shed light on what's making it happen in the other apps.

If I can help somehow, please let me know...

-pkas
pkas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:57 am

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby debambition on Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:37 pm

HI,

I was in a impression that I am athe only one who is facing this issue but this is not so. I am using Linux Mint 15 (Cinnamon). and I am still facing this issue. looks like it was not resolved with the updradation.

Is there any one have any solution for this.
debambition
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:18 pm

Re: Weird bug on cinnamon

Postby debambition on Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:46 am

Hi All,

after a lot of attaimpt I am able to resolve this issue. I am using Mint-15(Cinnamon), till few few days back I was getting the same issue. After disable all the special visual effect (System Setting-> Appearance -> Effect)or the compiz effect this issue is rectified. In previous versions One mayfind the same setting in the cinnamon display setting

Chears
Dibakar Deb
Attachments
src.png
debambition
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests