Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby QueenZ on Thu May 24, 2012 12:53 pm

Hi, I just downloaded and installed the Linux Mint 13 Maya MATE edition and then I ran the command "compiz --replace" and there were no window borders.... Try it and see if it happens for you because this is a fresh install and I don't know what's going on with Compiz.... I'm sure you would have the same problem... how can I fix this? Thanks!
QueenZ
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:53 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby remoulder on Thu May 24, 2012 1:52 pm

[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby bu99zy on Thu May 24, 2012 7:02 pm

In a terminal

Code: Select all
gtk-window-decorator --replace


To make it permanent open the compiz manager and enable "Windows Decoration"
User avatar
bu99zy
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:59 am

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby nosferatux on Wed May 30, 2012 7:17 pm


Greetings to the entire community.

I followed your suggestions, but now I can not change the window borders.
Anyone know how to fix it?
Thank you for your help.
ES-MX México
HP compaq nc6220
CentrinoM 1.60Ghz
40GB HDD
1.5GB RAM
dualboot
Before: LinuxMint 9 Gnome /winXP
Now: LinuxMint 13 Mate /winXP
nosferatux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Location: México

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby bu99zy on Wed May 30, 2012 8:45 pm

To change the window border theme open up gconf-editor, then go to apps >> metacity >> general >> theme
User avatar
bu99zy
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:59 am

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby AAAAH!ERMAGAWD!HELP! on Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:40 pm

bu99zy wrote:To change the window border theme open up gconf-editor, then go to apps >> metacity >> general >> theme


I don't see this under the configuration editor in 13 MATE
User avatar
AAAAH!ERMAGAWD!HELP!
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:03 pm

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby tommyb. on Sat Jun 16, 2012 5:27 pm

Me neither!
*** :lol: As some may have noticed my help files are available from Dropbox. If you like to help me, use my referral http://db.tt/AsmPmOv please and we both get a 500MB cloudspace bonus each :D
tommyb.
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 12:04 pm

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby jswmcw on Sat Jun 16, 2012 8:36 pm

You have to install gconf-editor. The editor installed, mateconf-editor, won't work for the borders with compiz.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
jswmcw
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby veganpete on Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:42 pm

...and how do we select a window border from there please? I type "Mint-X" in the theme box and restart compiz with "compiz --replace" and the same clunk theme is still there :(

...from a terminal, "gtk-window-decorator --replace" replies "cannot find a valid file for Mint-X" How do I change the window border? Cheers.
veganpete
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:20 am

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby Skara Brae on Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:34 pm

Compiz caused a lot of problems in my clean install of "Maya" (so much that I simply reinstalled Mint...). i remember the missing borders being one issue that I had.

Awesome the Compiz effects may look, I will not try it again.

One of the reasons why Ubuntu (10.04) is better than Mint 13 "Maya": Compiz worked flawlessly in Ubuntu, while it did/does not in Mint. Canonical ruined Ubuntu with their Unity nonsense :evil: and Gnome 3 isn't much better, so I switched to Mint.

Linux Mint is the second-best distro I've ever used. I like it :D

(No help from me for Compiz problems, sadly.)
Codename "PUMA": Intel Core i5-3450 // Gigabyte GA-H77-D3H // 1 x 4 GB DDR3-RAM // Gigabyte Geforce GT 630 // WD Caviar Blue 500 GB (S-ATA) // Samsung WriteMaster DVD-rw // Aopen QF50C PC case
--
Registered Linux User #495429
Skara Brae
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 10:45 am

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby jwedekin on Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:51 am

Yeah...It doesn't make any sense, but gconf-editor is the only way to change Mate themes when using Compiz.

I followed this poster's instructions:
http://forums.mate-desktop.org/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=363
jwedekin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:31 am

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby Oscar799 on Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:14 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8815
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Compiz doesn't have window borders in 13 MATE?

Postby AJ1000 on Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:04 pm

I use ubuntu tweak 0.7.1 to change the themes easily, on my setup which has mate and compiz.

In ubuntu tweak, click the Tweaks tab and the window borders change with the 'window theme' combobox.
AJ1000
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:10 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests