Conky on Daryna main - solved :)

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Conky on Daryna main - solved :)

Postby soran87 on Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:39 am

hey fellow mint users,

right at the moment, i have a problem getting conky working. i've installed it via synaptic, and when i start it out of a
console, it works just fine. ...as long as i have the console window opened, which is, of course, annoying.
when i try to start it from a launcher i created in the main menu, nothing happens. except when i choose 'application in terminal'.
i then get an error message "There was an error creating the child process for this terminal".
i've been browsing the web for hours now, and there's no solution in sight yet.
hope one of you guys can help me. thanks in advance

oh, and btw, i've already tried to add the dbe module to xorg.conf. unfortunately, mine has no section "module" in it.

Code: Select all
# xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Generic Keyboard"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "CoreKeyboard"
   Option      "XkbRules"   "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel"   "pc105"
   Option      "XkbLayout"   "de"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Configured Mouse"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option      "CorePointer"
   Option      "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
   Option      "Protocol"      "ImPS/2"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping"      "4 5"
   Option      "Emulate3Buttons"   "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Synaptics Touchpad"
   Driver      "synaptics"
   Option      "SendCoreEvents"   "true"
   Option      "Device"      "/dev/psaux"
   Option      "Protocol"      "auto-dev"
   Option      "HorizEdgeScroll"   "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Driver      "wacom"
   Identifier   "stylus"
   Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option      "Type"      "stylus"
   Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Driver      "wacom"
   Identifier   "eraser"
   Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option      "Type"      "eraser"
   Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Driver      "wacom"
   Identifier   "cursor"
   Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option      "Type"      "cursor"
   Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "ATI Technologies Inc RS485 [Radeon Xpress 1100 IGP]"
   Driver      "ati"
   BusID      "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Generic Monitor"
   Option      "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Device      "ATI Technologies Inc RS485 [Radeon Xpress 1100 IGP]"
   Monitor      "Generic Monitor"
   DefaultDepth   24
   SubSection "Display"
      Modes      "1280x800"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier   "Default Layout"
   Screen      "Default Screen"
   InputDevice   "Generic Keyboard"
   InputDevice   "Configured Mouse"

# Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
#   InputDevice     "stylus"   "SendCoreEvents"
#   InputDevice     "cursor"   "SendCoreEvents"
#   InputDevice     "eraser"   "SendCoreEvents"
   InputDevice   "Synaptics Touchpad"
EndSection


and here's my .conkyrc, just in case it's needed

Code: Select all
# UBUNTU-CONKY
# A comprehensive conky script, configured for use on
# Ubuntu / Debian Gnome, without the need for any external scripts.
#
# Based on conky-jc and the default .conkyrc.
# INCLUDES:
# - tail of /var/log/messages
# - netstat connections to your computer
#
# -- Pengo (conky@pengo.us)
#

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
own_window_type desktop # Try also 'normal' or 'override'
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes

# fiddle with window
use_spacer yes
use_xft no

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 3.0

# Minimum size of text area
# minimum_size 250 5

# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Text stuff
draw_outline no # amplifies text if yes
draw_borders no
font 12x12
uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 3

# border margins
border_margin 9

# border width
border_width 10

# Default colors and also border colors, grey90 == #e5e5e5
default_color black

own_window_colour black
own_window_transparent yes

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
#alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 10
gap_y 70

# stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screenen

TEXT
$nodename - $sysname $kernel on $machine
${color black}Uptime:$color $uptime ${color black}- Load:$color $loadavg
${color black}CPU Usage:${color black} ${cpu cpu1}% ${cpubar cpu1}
${color black}${cpugraph black black}
${color black}RAM Usage:$color $mem/$memmax - $memperc% ${membar}
${color black}Swap Usage:$color $swap/$swapmax - $swapperc% ${swapbar}
${color black}Processes:$color $processes  ${color black}Running:$color $running_processes
Down:${color black} ${downspeed eth0} k/s${color black} ${offset 80}Up:${color black} ${upspeed eth0} k/s
${color black}${downspeedgraph eth0 32,150 black black} ${color black}${upspeedgraph eth0 32,150 black black}
 /         $color${fs_used /home}/${fs_size /home} ${fs_bar /home}
 /Archiv   $color${fs_used /media/Archiv}/${fs_size /media/Archiv} ${fs_bar /media/Archiv}
 /mp3      $color${fs_used /media/mp3}/${fs_size /media/mp3} ${fs_bar /media/mp3}
${color}Name              PID     CPU%   MEM%
${color black} ${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${color black} ${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${color black} ${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color black} ${top name 4} ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4}
${color}Mem usage
${color black} ${top_mem name 1} ${top_mem pid 1} ${top_mem cpu 1} ${top_mem mem 1}
${color black} ${top_mem name 2} ${top_mem pid 2} ${top_mem cpu 2} ${top_mem mem 2}
${color black} ${top_mem name 3} ${top_mem pid 3} ${top_mem cpu 3} ${top_mem mem 3}
Last edited by soran87 on Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
soran87
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky on Daryna main - works only while console is open

Postby Zwopper on Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:28 pm

How about opening "Sessions" and adding it as a "start up at boot application".
Sorry for my poor English. :oops:
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 13.10
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Conky on Daryna main - works only while console is open

Postby soran87 on Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:44 pm

already tried that. ...and the script that starts conky via bash 30secs after bootup. doesn't work.
don't ask me why, but when i type "conky" in the console, the progr. starts. when i make a starter, just nothing happens.
i've already ran out of ideas, and haven't found a decent conky tutorial on the net yet.
btw, tried to install conky 1.4.9.deb with dpkg -i; thought that might fix it, but i was wrong.
...but i noticed in the mean time that it (i.e. the conky window) disappears when i click on the desktop.

...still hoping for some advice :)
soran87
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:34 am

Re: Conky on Daryna main - works only while console is open

Postby Zwopper on Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:52 pm

How about changing this:
# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes

to
# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window no

...worked here...
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 13.10
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Conky on Daryna main - works only while console is open

Postby soran87 on Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:06 pm

hey, thx a lot. [...]

okay, think i was a little stuck on the issue....
just changed the value for "own_window_type" to "override". :idea:
works just fine now.
soran87
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:34 am

Re: Conky on Daryna main - solved :)

Postby donec on Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:53 pm

Does anyone know of a Conky GUI or something like it?
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM13 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests