Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. on Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:40 pm

Cinnamon uses Muffin, so why is the package installed in the Cinnamon version of Mint? Is it safe to remove?
dee.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby passerby on Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:14 am

Should be. Try removing compiz and see if it attempts to bring a bunch of other packages along with it.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1375
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby catweazel on Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:16 am

dee. wrote:why is the package installed in the Cinnamon version of Mint?

It isn't. You are mistaken... unless perhaps you have a very old version, but you didn't state what version you have.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby cwsnyder on Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:31 pm

Compiz is not included, but Cinnamon DOES require a compositor for your screen. It inherits its requirement from GNOME which it is derived from.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM16 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 13.10 64-bit, Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. on Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:15 am

Not a very old version, unless you count the latest LTS (with backported packages) very old.

I know I haven't installed Compiz myself, and I don't know of any software that should have pulled it in, I don't have any other DE's installed on this machine.

Yet the package is there, and the first mention of it I can find in Synaptic history is an upgrade event, which would seem to indicate that it was included with the distro...
dee.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby passerby on Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:32 am

The LTS isn't that old, but before applying all of those updates, Mint 13 ships with 1.4. So yeah, old version by default.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1375
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. on Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:16 am

passerby wrote:The LTS isn't that old, but before applying all of those updates, Mint 13 ships with 1.4. So yeah, old version by default.


But what does even Cinnamon 1.4 need Compiz for?
dee.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby eanfrid on Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:08 am

For nothing. Compiz does not work with Cinnamon/Gnome Shell.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
Safer than Dropbox
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1871
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: FR

Re: Why is compiz included in Mint/Cinnamon?

Postby dee. on Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:05 pm

Right, so why is the package included with it?
dee.
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests