how do you get conky to be shown on screen?[solved]

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

how do you get conky to be shown on screen?[solved]

Postby arunarmstrong on Fri May 16, 2014 6:10 am

how do you get conky to be shown on screen?
Last edited by arunarmstrong on Fri May 01, 2015 6:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
arunarmstrong
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:38 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby Habitual on Fri May 16, 2014 11:34 am

open a terminal and type
Code: Select all
conky
Microsoft Windows assumes I am not smart.
Linux demands that I prove it.
Code: Select all
<any search engine> "keyword" site:forums.linuxmint.com
User avatar
Habitual
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2618
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby arunarmstrong on Fri May 16, 2014 2:48 pm

thanks for that. :D
User avatar
arunarmstrong
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:38 am

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby Aging Technogeek on Sat May 17, 2014 4:31 am

Or you can go to "Startup Applications"-> "Add"

Enter: Name"-conky - "Command"-conky and click "Add".

Conky will now turn on at power up automatically.
Image

Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4599
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby arunarmstrong on Mon May 19, 2014 3:22 am

Aging Technogeek wrote:Or you can go to "Startup Applications"-> "Add"

Enter: Name"-conky - "Command"-conky and click "Add".

Conky will now turn on at power up automatically.

thanks for that :D
User avatar
arunarmstrong
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:38 am

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby nomko on Mon May 19, 2014 4:57 am

Else there's a tool called conky-manager u can use:
http://www.teejeetech.in/p/conky-manager.html.
User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby arunarmstrong on Mon May 19, 2014 5:27 am

nomko wrote:Else there's a tool called conky-manager u can use:
http://www.teejeetech.in/p/conky-manager.html.

thanks
User avatar
arunarmstrong
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:38 am

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby EmpireITtech on Thu May 22, 2014 11:46 am

The Conky Manager is awesome and I'd suggest using it. You can still create or add new Conky files to the ones that come automatically with the manager. The manager just makes it way easier to turn on/off different Conky's. There's also a check box in the Options tab that allows you to start Conky on startup of the PC
Linux: Mint 17.1 Rebecca Cinnamon 64-Bit

Box 1: Intel Core 2 Quad | 8gb RAM | 500gb WD 7200rpm | nVidia Geforce GTS250
Box 2: Intel Core i3-3240 | 4gb RAM | 1tb WD 7200rpm | AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4550

Pants: 32x30
User avatar
EmpireITtech
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:45 am

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby Habitual on Thu May 22, 2014 1:46 pm

xsog wrote:
nomko wrote:Else there's a tool called conky-manager u can use:
http://www.teejeetech.in/p/conky-manager.html.

thanks


Cheater! ;)
Microsoft Windows assumes I am not smart.
Linux demands that I prove it.
Code: Select all
<any search engine> "keyword" site:forums.linuxmint.com
User avatar
Habitual
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2618
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby administrollaattori on Sun Jun 01, 2014 2:57 am

After installing Conky, making a conky.desktop file to ~/.config/autostart folder. The file contents:
Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
 Type=Application
 Name=Conky
 Comment=conky
 Exec=conky
User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby nomko on Sun Jun 08, 2014 3:19 pm

Habitual wrote:Cheater! ;)

??????????
Last edited by nomko on Fri Jun 13, 2014 5:11 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: how do you get conky to be shown on screen?

Postby arunarmstrong on Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:24 am

thanks for all the help :)
User avatar
arunarmstrong
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:38 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests