Conky Showoff thread

Add functionality to your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

Those inxi options are so awesome! Why haven't i come across those before, never mind, i am a freakin' dinosaur, that's why. Thank you Sector11, you are a veritable fountain of knowledge. :D
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

mzsade wrote:Those inxi options are so awesome! Why haven't i come across those before, never mind, i am a freakin' dinosaur, that's why. Thank you Sector11, you are a veritable fountain of knowledge. :D
hehehehe over 60,000 apps in the repos - you can't be expected to know them all!

Besides, your not a dinosaur until you can join an Over the Hill Gang.
Any Over the Hill Gang, not just that one.

You know you're old when your son asks:
Hey dad, did grampa let you use the family dinosaur to pick up mom on dates?
True story .. I wanted to {cough cough} ... well, never mind.
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

dump.png
I was looking for a way to grab an image from a webpage and display it in conky and after trying out a lot of wget and curl scripts that didn't work i stumbled on cutycapt. This is outrageous but i just couldn't resist! :lol:

Code: Select all

conky.text = [[
${execi 20 cutycapt --url=http://www.timeanddate.com/weather/india/mumbai --out=mweather.png}
${image ~/mweather.png -n -f 60}
]]
This is just for demonstration, of course i am not going to continue using it, i prefer my ugly labor of love.
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

mzsade wrote:This is just for demonstration, of course i am not going to continue using it, i prefer my ugly labor of love.
There is nothing ugly about a labour of love. Beauty is in the eye of the conky creator. :lol: :lol: :lol:

That's a pretty neat application of "cutycapt" though. :)
Must play with it. Thanks
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

Sector11 wrote: Must play with it. Thanks
My pleasure, try it with the imagemagick <convert yourimage.png -crop wxh+someoffset+anotheroffset output.png> option in the cutycapt command line to get it exactly as you want. I gave it up after a few attempts, it was too tedious. :)
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

mzsade wrote:I gave it up after a few attempts, it was too tedious. :)
I found it "stole" usable desktop space for my right-click OpenBox menu - even after my test conky was killed:

I can centre|right click on all my conkys to:
1. get at OpenBox
2. move them (ALT+left click)
3. resize them (ALT+right click)
Just by using:

Code: Select all

own_window normal
So until I figure out why it's stealing that area of my desktop, it will be just trying things in a terminal.

Yea, definitely resizing to the size desired is a big plus.
Remember our conversation via Habitual about images and sizing vs CPU usage. :wink:
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

Oh yes! That's only for the extravagant hobbyist and the artist. But no harm in trying it out just to check it out. :)

Here's my settings, i adjusted the gap_x and the minimum_height, minimum_width variables to get the conky window i posted before using cutycap.

Code: Select all

conky.config = {
    alignment = 'top_right',
    background = false,
    cpu_avg_samples = 4,
    top_cpu_separate = false,
    default_color = '#E2E2E2',
    draw_borders = false,
    border_width = 4,
    border_inner_margin = 3,
    use_xft = true,
    font = 'DejaVu Sans Mono:bold:size=11',
    gap_x = 387,
    gap_y = 10,
    net_avg_samples = 2,
    no_buffers = true,
    double_buffer = true,
    out_to_console = false,
    out_to_stderr = false,
    extra_newline = false,
    minimum_height = 520,
    minimum_width = 800,	
    own_window = true,
    own_window_type = 'normal',
    own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar',
    own_window_class = 'Conky',
    own_window_transparent = true,
    override_utf8_locale = true,
    stippled_borders = 0,
    update_interval = 10,
    uppercase = false,
    use_spacer = 'none',
    hddtemp_host,
    hddtemp_port,
    hddtemp_refresh,
    temperature_unit = celsius,
}
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

mzsade wrote:Oh yes! That's only for the extravagant hobbyist and the artist. But no harm in trying it out just to check it out. :)
OH, I agree. Testing is a great bit of fun. It's what I have a permanent test conky
I'm still playing .. :roll:

Regarding these...

Code: Select all

    minimum_height = 520,
    minimum_width = 800,	

    hddtemp_host,
    hddtemp_port,
    hddtemp_refresh,
Two question and a request.

1. Does conky v1.10 really have a "minimum_height" or is it like v1.9 "minimum_size" = height (width)
- - if it does I owe someone an apology.

2. same with hddtemp_refresh, that exists in v1.10?
- - doesn't exist in v1.90

Request:
Not the best method but could you post a text file of the conky v1.10 man page?
Thanks.
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

I tried, the man page is just too big, cannot be accomodated in the forum..i can confirm this, hddtemp just as in the previous version, all you have to do is permit it to run at startup during configuration.
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

I tried, the man page is just too big, cannot be accomodated in the forum..but i can confirm this, hddtemp works just as in the previous version, all you have to do is permit it to run at startup during initial configuration, administrative privileges for it are not essential.
Edit: System froze while making this post and i see now that i've repeated it, would the moderator (@xenopeek) be so kind as to remove the clutter.. :)
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

Thank you for trying ... I was just asking about the "hddtemp_refresh" command in v1.10. It doesn't exist in v1.9

As for setting it up (in case others are reading) I have my little cheatsheet:

Code: Select all

To recongigure hddtemp
sudo dpkg-reconfigure hddtemp
Answers: No, 0, Yes, OK, OK
at least that works with Debian Stable.
Then in conky:

Code: Select all

${hddtemp /dev/sda}°
I'll have to log into one of my other installs ... and install conky v1.10 I guess.
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

When it comes to hddtemp, the same conky with the appropriate changes in notation works for both my LMDE and Debian Sid partitions..i've had problems with other aspects (mentioned in an unanswered previous post) but none with it....
Edit: Nothing like a few well placed Tuxes to make your stark conky cheerful. :D
Last edited by mzsade on Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

@ mzsade

You need a better Tux than that. :wink:

Check out this neat TUX ... Stycil Tux (by cheese) :arrow: I have the .svg and the two .png's

Then there's: Image
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

Thanks, makes all the difference. :D Mine was from the Tux gallery, looked a bit tacky with that white outline.
scrot.png
How does that stencil work? I mean on a computer, can you fill it out as easily on Gimp or something..?
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

mzsade wrote:How does that stencil work? I mean on a computer, can you fill it out as easily on Gimp or something..?
Yup, looks NICE! ...
Do anything you want with them. :)
Image
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by mzsade »

Thanks for the Tuxes, they scale well, made my wallpaper with them. :D
http://i.imgur.com/Q22Fx8N.png
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

Nice. :) ... and you're welcome.
grzegorzdabrowka
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 2:10 pm

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by grzegorzdabrowka »

Image


GrzegorzDabrowka[at]gmail.com
code on the website http://htmelek.republika.pl/
conky code: http://htmelek.republika.pl/download/.conkyrc
conf is closed, thx
jsocoinac

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by jsocoinac »

Good stuff in here!

Here's mine.
screenshot-area-2016-05-01-045220.png
Code available upon request.
Sector11

Re: Conky Showoff thread

Post by Sector11 »

jsocoinac wrote:Good stuff in here!

Here's mine. screenshot-area-2016-05-01-045220.png

Code available upon request.
Yes please ... there are a couple of things in there that look interesting.

Musical note and mute I'm guessing uses ${mixer} in some way ... stars look cool too.
Locked

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks & Widgets”