Conky hardware monitors?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Conky hardware monitors?

Postby Sanjima on Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:26 am

Is there anyone that might be kind enough to walk me through adding hardware monitors to my Conky config?
(hardware monitors like CPU temperature and fan speed, case fan speed and HDD temperatures)

I have lm_sensors installed, and it works fine when I run "sensors" from the terminal. I just don't know how to get any of this data into my Conky output.

I'm running Linux Mint 7 Gloria, Main Edition. if that helps.

Here's a screenshot of the output produced by the sensors command, and my current conky config. :3
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/9606/screenshot1fu.png
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby lagagnon on Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:35 am

Here is my line for CPU temperature:

${color lightgrey}CPU Temp:${execi 60 sensors | grep CPU | cut -c 15-16}C

You have to use grep and cut properly to get the info off the sensors line. "grep" finds the CPU line and "cut" finds the correct columns of info from the line.

However, if ACPI is working and enabled correctly and you have a motherboard that supports certain ACPI facilities you might be able to get CPU temp directly from the file: /proc/acpi/thermal_zone
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby Sanjima on Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:38 am

ooh, alrighty. And I suppose I can use the same code style to get voltage readings and anything else from the Sensors output.

How would I go about checking to see if ACPI is installed and working correctly? =o
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby lagagnon on Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:42 am

Sanjima wrote:ooh, alrighty. And I suppose I can use the same code style to get voltage readings and anything else from the Sensors output.

Exactly.
How would I go about checking to see if ACPI is installed and working correctly? =o


Just use the file manager to navigate to /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature and see if you see a temperature listed there, if that is the case then you don't need the above and you can do this:

${acpitemp}°C ${alignr}(${cpu cpu1}%)
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby Sanjima on Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:46 am

lagagnon wrote:Just use the file manager to navigate to /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature and see if you see a temperature listed there


I did so and when I opened the temperature file, it was blank. o.o; Any thoughts?

*edit: When I open the folder as root and look at the file icons where it shows a little preview of its contents, they don't appear to be blank. But when I open it with the text editor, it appears as if blank.
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby optimize me on Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:04 pm

Tutorials, how-to's, scripts, screenshots and more: http://conky.linux-hardcore.com/
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby Sanjima on Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:20 pm

optimize me wrote:Tutorials, how-to's, scripts, screenshots and more: http://conky.linux-hardcore.com/


That website is kinda handy, I'd been looking through it a bit earlier. But its section on hardware monitors and their scripts was every small and didn't explain much at all.
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby AK Dave on Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:42 pm

optimize me wrote:http://conky.linux-hardcore.com/


Thats totally awesome! Thanks! Oooh, I forsee hours and hours retooling my conky scripts now. :)
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Conky hardware monitors?

Postby Sanjima on Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:54 pm

AK Dave wrote:
optimize me wrote:http://conky.linux-hardcore.com/


Thats totally awesome! Thanks! Oooh, I forsee hours and hours retooling my conky scripts now. :)


xD yeah I've spent quite a deal of time editing mine today and yesterday. Take a look =D
http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/8429/niftyf.png

If you like it I can give you my .conkyrc for it, and the extra scripts and files involved. :3
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest