Weird Conky problem

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:59 pm

Alright, the basis of my problem is that my Conky makes my desktop items disappear. I'm sure this is a common problem, but mine's slightly more complicated. Or at least I think it is.

I realize that to fix this problem, the following code would be changed from this:
own_window no
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override

To this:
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override

However, when I do that, part of my Conky disappears.
Behold, here's a screenshot with "own_window no"
http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/3830/screenshotec.png

And here's with "own_window yes"
http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/3010/screenshot1pu.png

My clock disappears, as you can see. lol And I believe I know why, but I don't know a way around it.
Here is my Conky code.
Code: Select all
background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Sans:size=8
xftalpha 0
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0

own_window no
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

double_buffer yes
maximum_width 200
use_spacer none

draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
border_margin 9
border_width 10

default_color white
default_shade_color 905049
default_outline_color white

alignment top_right
gap_x 20
gap_y 40

no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 3

max_specials 256
text_buffer_size 256
override_utf8_locale no

# ${color gray}File System: ${color 90DDC0}$alignr${fs_type}


# ${color FFFFFF}${font DejaVu Sans:bold:size=8}TOP PROCESSES ${color 8888FF}${hr 2}
# ${color 80E0A0}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}Name: ${alignr 30}CPU: ${alignr 9}RAM:
# ${color gray}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}${top name 1}${color 90DDC0}${alignr}${top cpu 1} %${alignr}${top mem 1} %
# ${color gray}${top_mem name 2}${color 90DDC0}${alignr}${top cpu 2} %${alignr}${top mem 2} %
# ${color gray}$font${top name 3}${color 90DDC0}${alignr}${top cpu 3} %${alignr}${top mem 3} %
# ${color gray}$font${top name 4}${color 90DDC0}${alignr}${top cpu 4} %${alignr}${top mem 4} %
# ${color gray}$font${top name 5}${color 90DDC0}${alignr}${top cpu 5} %${alignr}${top mem 5} %


# ${rss http://rss.accuweather.com/rss/liveweather_rss.asp?metric=0&locCode=45419 10 item_title 1}
# ${font conkyweather:size=35}${execi 600  sed -n '5p' /home/sumi/conky_stuff/AccuWeather/conky_weather/weather1}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}${voffset -20}${execi 600 sed -n '2p' /home/sumi/conky_stuff/AccuWeather/conky_weather/weather1}

# ${rss http://rss.accuweather.com/rss/liveweather_rss.asp?metric=0&locCode=45419 10 item_title 2}
# ${font conkyweather:size=35}${execi 600  sed -n '6p' /home/sumi/conky_stuff/AccuWeather/conky_weather/weather1}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}${voffset -20}${execi 600 sed -n '3p' /home/sumi/conky_stuff/AccuWeather/conky_weather/weather1}


TEXT
${color 6666DD}${goto 875}${font zoraclockD:size=110}I
${voffset -178}${color 90DDC0}${goto 875}${font clockfaces:size=110}Q
${color black}${voffset -156}${goto 882}${font zoraclockM:size=110}${execpi 20 ~/conky_stuff/clock.sh minute}
${color black}${voffset -150}${goto 902}${font zoraclockH:size=80}${execpi 20 ~/conky_stuff/clock.sh hour}
${voffset -195}${color FFFFFF}${font DejaVu Sans:bold:size=8}SYSTEM ${color 8888FF}${hr 2}
${color gray}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}$sysname $kernel $alignr ${color 90DDC0}$machine
${color gray}Host:${color 90DDC0}$alignr$nodename
${color gray}Uptime:${color 90DDC0}$alignr$uptime_short
${color gray}Load: ${color 90DDC0}${alignr}${loadavg 1}, ${loadavg 2}, ${loadavg 3}

${color FFFFFF}${font DejaVu Sans:bold:size=8}PROCESSORS ${color 8888FF}${hr 2}
${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}${color gray}CPU 1: ${color 90DDC0}${cpu cpu1}%${alignr}${color 80E0A0}${cpubar cpu1 7,95}
${color gray}CPU 2: ${color 90DDC0}${cpu cpu2}%${alignr}${color 80E0A0}${cpubar cpu2 7,95}
${color gray}Temperature: ${color 90DDC0}${execi 5 sensors | grep temp1 | cut -c 15-16} C${alignr}${color 000000}${cpugraph 8,95 000000 80E0A0}

${color FFFFFF}${font DejaVu Sans:bold:size=8}MEMORY ${color 8888FF}${hr 2}
${color 90DDC0}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}RAM ${color gray}$alignr $mem / $memmax ${color FFFFFF}$alignr $memperc%
${color 80E0A0}${membar 7,95}${alignr}${color 000000}${memgraph 7,95 000000 80E0A0}

${color FFFFFF}${font DejaVu Sans:bold:size=8}DISKS ${color 8888FF}${hr 2}
${color 90DDC0}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}FileSystem: ${color gray}$alignc ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /} ${color white}$alignr ${fs_used_perc /}%
${color 90DDC0}Drive Temperature: ${color gray}${execi 30 hddtemp /dev/sda | cut -c 34-35} C ${alignr}${diskiograph /dev/sda 8,40 000000 80E0A0}
${color 80E0A0}${fs_bar /}

${color FFFFFF}${font DejaVu Sans:bold:size=8}NETWORK ${color 8888FF}${hr 2}
${color gray}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}Local IP address: ${color 90DDC0}$alignr ${addr eth0}
${color gray}Download:${color 90DDC0}${downspeedf eth0}kB/s ${alignr}${color gray}Upload:${color 90DDC0}${upspeedf eth0}kB/s
${color 001000}${downspeedgraph eth0 26,95 000000 80E0A0}${offset 10}${color 001000}${upspeedgraph eth0 26,95 000000 80E0A0}

${color FFFFFF}${font DejaVu Sans:bold:size=8}WEATHER ${color 8888FF}${hr 2}
${color gray}${execi 300 sh /home/sumi/conky_stuff/AccuWeather/conky_weather/weather_script.sh}${font conkyweather:size=35}${execi 600  sed -n '4p' /home/sumi/conky_stuff/AccuWeather/conky_weather/weather1}${font DejaVu Sans:normal:size=8}${voffset -20}${color 90DDC0}${execi 300 sed -n '1p' /home/sumi/conky_stuff/AccuWeather/conky_weather/weather1}


The part that I think may be the problem, is simply because my clock is coded to be positioned outside of the normal Conky window boundaries. This works fine when Conky isn't in its own window, however it disappears when it does have its own window 'cause there's no longer the entire desktop's worth of space to draw to.

All I want is to be able to see my desktop icons, and my clock where it is, at the same time. Is there some way I can finagle with this to make it work that way?
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby optimize me on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:56 am

Try changing your text buffer size from 256 to 512. It may even take 1024 to run that clock. You could go as high as 4096 without any real pulls on your system performance.
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:02 am

optimize me wrote:Try changing your text buffer size from 256 to 512. It may even take 1024 to run that clock. You could go as high as 4096 without any real pulls on your system performance.


Alright, I'll try that. In the meantime, what does that do exactly? o.o

*edit: I changed the buffer to 1024 and there was still no difference, what ever it did. lol
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby optimize me on Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:19 am

Then try putting the clock itself into it's own conkyrc. Position it to your liking and see if you still have the problem.
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:08 pm

optimize me wrote:Then try putting the clock itself into it's own conkyrc. Position it to your liking and see if you still have the problem.


How do I do that? =o
er, rather, how do I make it so both .conkyrc's initiate?

here's my current startup script
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
sleep 10 &&
conky -d
exit
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby optimize me on Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:57 pm

Sanjima wrote:How do I do that? =o
er, rather, how do I make it so both .conkyrc's initiate?

here's my current startup script
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
sleep 10 &&
conky -d
exit

Just add another line to the startup script before exit pointing to the .conkyrc that will start it.

You already have the "background yes" option in your file, so you don't need to use the -d switch. Use the -c switch to point to a config file other than ~/.conkyrc. For example, I keep all my .conkyrc's and related scripts in a folder ~/Conky. To start them all, my startup script (also located in ~/Conky) looks something like:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
sleep 10
conky -c ~/Conky/.conkyrc
conky -c ~Conky/.conkyrc2
exit

You could put as many conkies as you want in it, though the most I ever use is three, and the most I've ever seen going at once is eight.
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:03 pm

Wow, awesome =D thanks! I'll try that and let you know how it works :3

(eight conky's, wow xD)
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:20 pm

Alright, I've got them in seperate .conkyrc files now. The main one works fine, although the bottom of the weather cloud was cut off at the bottom so I added an extra like (just pressed enter xD) at the bottom of the file and that fixed that problem.

But my clock isn't showing up. The instance of conky is loaded, however, 'cause stuff disappears when I drag desktop icons under the edge of it. But the clock is no where to be found. ._.

Here's my .conkyrc code for my clock.
Code: Select all
background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Sans:size=8
xftalpha 0
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0

own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

double_buffer yes
maximum_width 200
use_spacer none

draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
border_margin 9
border_width 10

default_color white
default_shade_color 905049
default_outline_color white

alignment top_right
gap_x 230
gap_y 40

no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 3

max_specials 256
text_buffer_size 256
override_utf8_locale no



TEXT
${color 6666DD}${goto 875}${font zoraclockD:size=110}I
${voffset -178}${color 90DDC0}${goto 875}${font clockfaces:size=110}Q
${color black}${voffset -156}${goto 882}${font zoraclockM:size=110}${execpi 20 ~/conky_stuff/clock.sh minute}
${color black}${voffset -150}${goto 902}${font zoraclockH:size=80}${execpi 20 ~/conky_stuff/clock.sh hour}
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby optimize me on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:24 pm

Run that conky from a terminal, by itself, and show me the output.

I don't have the clock script or the font installed, so I can't test it for you.
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:31 pm

optimize me wrote:Run that conky from a terminal, by itself, and show me the output.

I don't have the clock script or the font installed, so I can't test it for you.


The output was as normal as any other conky output, it was just disappearing behind invisible walls.
I actually fixed it just now =D I had to take off the "goto" commands and replace them with horizontal offset commands of the same relative distance from eachother. (23, 23, 30, and 50, respectively.)

Thanks so much for your help :3 if not for the script you gave me for the startup thing, I would've just dealt with my desktop items blinking in and out of existence as I hover past them xD
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:38 pm

Works perfectly now =D Here's the finished code
http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/3734/screenshot1q.png
Code: Select all
background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Sans:size=8
xftalpha 0
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0

own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

double_buffer yes
minimum_size width 120
use_spacer right

draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
border_margin 9
border_width 10

default_color white
default_shade_color 905049
default_outline_color white

alignment top_right
gap_x 170
gap_y 40

no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 3

max_specials 256
text_buffer_size 256
override_utf8_locale no


# ${goto 875}
# ${goto 875}
# ${goto 882}
# ${goto 902}


TEXT
${offset 23}${color 6666DD}${font zoraclockD:size=110}I
${offset 23}${voffset -178}${color 90DDC0}${font clockfaces:size=110}Q
${offset 30}${color black}${voffset -156}${font zoraclockM:size=110}${execpi 20 ~/conky_stuff/clock.sh minute}
${offset 50}${color black}${voffset -150}${font zoraclockH:size=80}${execpi 20 ~/conky_stuff/clock.sh hour}


There's one more thing. This is a tiny thing but I was wondering if you knew of a solution to this. The invisible window in which the clock conky instance runs is really, really tall. xD look at this:
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/2789/longboxthing.png

Any ideas to make that window a bit shorter? lol
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby optimize me on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:48 pm

I'm not sure that screen shot is loading for me. All I see is your top panel. Show me a full-screen of what you're talking about, as I don't see anything out of place in the full-screen you did post.
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:50 pm

The full image is there, try reloading it. It took a while to start loading the rest of the picture, but it did work for me.
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby optimize me on Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:04 pm

Sanjima wrote:The full image is there, try reloading it. It took a while to start loading the rest of the picture, but it did work for me.

OK, it loaded that time. Sometimes imageshack can be a pain...

Anyway, in your file for the clock you have the line "minimum _size width 120". It could be you're using a newer version than me, but my option like that in my file isn't stated like that. I have:
Code: Select all
maximum_width 250
minimum_size 1000


Try changing yours to similar phrasing. Try setting maximum_width 120 and maximum_size 120 and see what happens.
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:20 pm

That didn't work xD
It had no effect on the length of the window, but made it really narrow and made the clock disappear.
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby optimize me on Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:37 pm

Sanjima wrote:That didn't work xD
It had no effect on the length of the window, but made it really narrow and made the clock disappear.

Play with it.. see what happens.

The official conky pages are here: http://conky.sourceforge.net/
and there's a good blog here: http://conky.linux-hardcore.com/

the guys that made that clock thing have pages there.
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 RAM ATI Radeon HD6970
User avatar
optimize me
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:25 pm

Re: Weird Conky problem

Postby Sanjima on Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:40 pm

Yeah, I've spent plenty of time in both of those sites over the past couple of days lol
It's no biggy, I'm just gonna leave it as it is. It works great now thanks to you :3 Thanks for all your help
Watch your words spread Hope like Fire.
User avatar
Sanjima
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 2 guests