Conky won't start from command line

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Conky won't start from command line

Postby Oscar799 on Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:37 am

I'm running Mint 8 main edition.
I installed Conky from synaptic.
When I typed "conky" in terminal to run it I got this error message:-
Code: Select all
oscar799@missioncontrol ~ $ conky
Conky: missing text block in configuration; exiting
***** Imlib2 Developer Warning ***** :
   This program is calling the Imlib call:

   imlib_context_free();

   With the parameter:

   context

   being NULL. Please fix your program.
oscar799@missioncontrol ~ $


I checked in synaptic and libimlib2 and libimlib2-dev both show as installed.
I ran
Code: Select all
whereis Imlib2

which returned /usr/include/Imlib2.h
I checked that location but it is not there.
I also ran
Code: Select all
whereis libimlib2

That just returned libimlib2 with no path

It doesn't appear to be a problem with the machine as I'm running Mint 7 64bit in another partition and Conky works fine on it.
I've searched the forum and Google but haven't been able to work out exactly whats gone wrong.
Anyone else had this problem?
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby RedWagon on Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:34 pm

Just a guess, can you copy over the files from your working partition? I'm not really familiar with Imlib2.h specifically but sometimes stuff like you can copy from other installs.
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby vrkalak on Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:29 pm

When you installed Conky from the Synaptic Manager . . . did you install "all" the needed Conky files.

I think there are 3.

Conky. Conky All. Conky CLI . . . and, of course, go for at least, version 1.7.2

And you made a ~/.Conkyrc file ?

How-to configure Conky: http://lusule.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/how-to-4/
You might also, try the Conky Forums at:
http://conky.sourceforge.net/
and http://conky.linux-hardcore.com/
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3049
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby slider on Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:05 am

oscar799

Ive seen users have this problem before when installing conky with a package manager instead of terminal.

Try running:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove --purge conky

Then re-install:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install conky


Should fix your problem.

2nd: If you have trouble finding file locations try the following:
Update database:
Code: Select all
sudo updatedb

Then run:
Code: Select all
locate <filename>


See man locate and man updatedb for more info.

Let us know how things go if you want.
"In the beginning of a change the patriot is a scarce man, brave and hated and scorned. When his cause succeeds the timid join him for then it costs nothing to be a patriot."
Mark Twain
slider
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Sliding around somewhere!

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby Oscar799 on Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:16 am

Thanks for your suggestions.
vrkalak:-
I checked synaptic, conky and conky-all were there,when I marked conky-cli for installation a window came up saying conky and conky-all would be removed during the installation.Thought this might not be the best idea.So I tried another suggestion.

slider:-
I tried your suggestion to purge and then install again via command line.
Got the same problem with Imlib as I got first time round.

So I'm now going to try RedWagon's suggestion and copy the file across from a working install,as I'm not sure if there may be a problem copying it from a 64bit system,I'll copy it from a 32bit system on another machine.
I'll report back here on what happened.
Thanks again for all your suggestions.
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby Oscar799 on Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:05 am

I tried RedWagon's solution.
Unfortunately,both my working installs are conky 1.6.1 which don't appear to use Imlib2.

I tried installing conky-cli (allowing it to remove conky and conky-all) but when I tried to run it I got the following error message:-
"missing text block in configuration;exiting"
I do have a ~/.conkyrc file contain a default config.
I don't know what to try next.
I'm wondering if it is possible to install conky 1.6.1 on Mint 8 instead of conky 1.7.2 to see if that works.
Any further ideas/suggestions much appreciated.
Thanks
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby RedWagon on Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:25 am

missing text block in configuration;exiting

That sounds like a problem with your .conkyrc file. Try renaming it to something else and then launching conky; it will run without a .conkyrc, I just tested it to make sure.
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Conky won't start from command line (SOLVED)

Postby Oscar799 on Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:33 am

Amazing!...and a bit barmy
I renamed .conkyrc,called it albert,conky now works.
Thanks RedWagon
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby slider on Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:54 am

Sorry about that! Was probably my fault for not mentioning that you needed to remove the .conkyrc from your home folder as purge doesn't do that. :oops:

I was just now checking dependencies for ya for a 1.6.1 version when I got the notification LOL! :lol:

The default is in "/etc/conky/conky.conf" usually which is what the program runs on when first installed until the home folder file is modified by the user.

Glad y'all got it worked out! :)
"In the beginning of a change the patriot is a scarce man, brave and hated and scorned. When his cause succeeds the timid join him for then it costs nothing to be a patriot."
Mark Twain
slider
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Sliding around somewhere!

Re: Conky won't start from command line

Postby Oscar799 on Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:05 am

No problem slider,
All's well now and I learned new stuff :D :D
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests