Conky not showing up...

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Conky not showing up...

Postby biocmp on Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:30 pm

I downloaded Conky through the software manager and it shows in downloading 100% and then I can't find it? I re-booted the computer in case that would have an affect, but to no avail.

Any suggestions on what I am doing wrong? I assume it is something simple.
User avatar
biocmp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:04 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby richyrich on Mon Aug 30, 2010 5:20 pm

Install the conkywizard from Synaptic Package Manager, then you'll have something (GUI) in the menu. :)
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby colyn on Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:45 pm

richyrich wrote:Install the conkywizard from Synaptic Package Manager, then you'll have something (GUI) in the menu. :)


Conkywizard does not exist..Least not in synaptic.

In order to get conky working you have to create a .conkyrc (notice the dot at the beginning) file and save it in your home directory. Once done you go to the terminal and type conky.

Check out this thread for ideas and don't hesitate to ask questions.. viewtopic.php?f=60&t=30209
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: I'm right here..Can't ya see me?

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby richyrich on Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:13 pm

??? I'm in Xfce 9
conkywizard.jpg
conkywizard.jpg (80.07 KiB) Viewed 1383 times
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby colyn on Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:32 pm

richyrich wrote:??? I'm in Xfce 9


It had to have been downloaded from either the website or gnome-look.org. I just checked the conkywizard site.

Once installed it will show up in synaptic so if you decide to un-install it otherwise installation is done manually from the tar.gz.

I just checked synaptic after doing a
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
run at the terminal and it does not show up because it is not in the repositories..

Check this link... http://maketecheasier.com/configuring-c ... 2010/08/24

Image
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: I'm right here..Can't ya see me?

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby richyrich on Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:37 pm

http://packages.linuxmint.com/pool/import/c/conkywizard/conkywizard_1.0.0-1mint1~svnr37_all.deb

Sorry bub . . . maintained by merlwiz79, and available from the Mint Xfce Repository!
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby colyn on Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:32 am

richyrich wrote:http://packages.linuxmint.com/pool/import/c/conkywizard/conkywizard_1.0.0-1mint1~svnr37_all.deb

Sorry bub . . . maintained by merlwiz79, and available from the Mint Xfce Repository!


Not everybody is using XFCe so by default it is not maintained in the usual repositories. You should have explained this up front.

You can find a lot of software by enabling untrusted as well as other non-ubuntu/mint repositories..

This is supposed to be a friendly place to exchange ideas and to help people. Calling people "bub" is unfriendly...
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: I'm right here..Can't ya see me?

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby pbmuk on Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:35 am

You can add it to the menu yourself as an application (right click the menu button and edit menu). The command is "conky". I added it into the "System Tools" menu with the description "System information monitor".

If you want it to run at startup then you need a delay before starting Conky otherwise it doesn't work. I added a script to the startup called startconky.sh with the following lines:

#!/bin/bash

sleep 30
conky

You will need to make your own .conkyrc file.
Advent 4211 Netbook, LMDE 32bit Cinnamon
User avatar
pbmuk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: UK

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby Claytonofbricks on Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:55 pm

I'm having the same problem and I have the .conkyrc file in my home folder. Not really too sure what I'm doing wrong but when I type "conky" into the terminal nothing happens no matter how long I wait although it shows up in the system processes.
Claytonofbricks
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:50 pm

Re: Conky not showing up...

Postby Claytonofbricks on Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:02 pm

Sorry to double post but I figured out my problem, I just suck at conky scripts. The one I got off the showoff thread worked fine. :oops:
Claytonofbricks
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests