Conky renders text twice and wrong - mint 9 fluxbox

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Conky renders text twice and wrong - mint 9 fluxbox

Postby daquirm on Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:24 pm

Hello,

I have problem with conky, whenever I use the $font variable, it draws every single text twice. Once with the original font defined by the xftfont, second by the $font variable even if it should render just on line.

Am I doing anything wrong?

Code: Select all
background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont neuropol:size=10
xftalpha 1
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type override
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 250
maximum_width 400
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
default_color grey
default_shade_color black
alignment bottom_left
gap_x 75
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no
use_spacer right
##############################################
#  Output
##############################################

TEXT
${color #4C4C4C}$nodename - $sysname$color $hr
${color #FEC400}Frequency (in MHz):$alignr$color $freq
${color #FEC400}CPU Usage:$color $alignr$cpu%
${color #FEC400}RAM Usage:$color$alignr$memperc% of $memmax
${color #FEC400}Deskotop: $alignr$color$desktop_name
${color #FEC400}Networking:$color
${font sans:size=10}Up:$color ${upspeed eth0}${alignr} Down: $color${downspeed eth0}
Attachments
Screenshot-2.png
Screenshot-2.png (20.7 KiB) Viewed 569 times
daquirm
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:11 pm
Location: Prague, CZ

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky renders text twice and wrong - mint 9 fluxbox

Postby colyn on Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:13 pm

If you want to use the font listed at the bottom of your conky code (sans) you need to set the below to no. Or better yet change the default font below to the font you want to use.

Code: Select all
use_xft yes
xftfont neuropol:size=10


As it is now conky is reading two different fonts and will display both..

Code: Select all
${font sans:size=10}
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I

Re: Conky renders text twice and wrong - mint 9 fluxbox

Postby daquirm on Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:49 am

Ok, but what if I want to use 2 fonts, one for text, the second for conkyWeather symbol font. If I set it as follows, conky isn't able to render any other font apart from the system font.

Code: Select all
use_xft no
xftfont neuropol:size=10
daquirm
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:11 pm
Location: Prague, CZ

Re: Conky renders text twice and wrong - mint 9 fluxbox

Postby colyn on Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:50 pm

Check out the below thread. It has examples on how to use more than one font.

viewtopic.php?f=60&t=30209
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I

Re: Conky renders text twice and wrong - mint 9 fluxbox

Postby daquirm on Wed Sep 15, 2010 3:43 pm

Thanks Colyn, you pointed me to a good forum but unfortunately it doesn't solve my problem and I don't think that you really got the reason, why I write here. At least it helped me to discover the cause of the bug. The thing is that I think I use all the parameters correctly But there's a bug in rendering font shades because my problem disappears when I set this option:

Code: Select all
draw_shades no

Screenshot-2.png
Screenshot-2.png (11.52 KiB) Viewed 542 times

Still I'd rather have it with shades like this:
Screenshot-1.png
Screenshot-1.png (63.04 KiB) Viewed 542 times


Is someone else having this problem with shades?
daquirm
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:11 pm
Location: Prague, CZ


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests