[Solved] editing my conky script

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved] editing my conky script

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:28 am

I am running the Conky Script that is in the repos. I want to add my home partition to that. can someone guide me on how I might be able to do that?


many thanks
Last edited by willie42 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: editing my conky script

Postby linXea on Sat Jan 01, 2011 5:33 am

You mean "view your /home partition in the conkyscript?

    /home $color${fs_used /home}/${fs_size /home} ${fs_bar /home}

that will give you information about how much used discspace you have on /home, total size of /home and a bar showing the total usage of /home.
Image
Dektop: AMD Quad-Core, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3650silent, 33TB harddrive
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad x201, Intel core2centrino P9600, 4GB RAM, 750gb
User avatar
linXea
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: editing my conky script

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 5:44 am

might be a rookie question I am not sure if I am already suppose to know but the Conky script is in my /etc. actually its /etc/conky.

there are 2 items in the conky folder. Conky.conf and Conky_no_x11.conf. Which one gets edited. and what command do I use to edit that script. I have never edited a conky script or seen if the forums where anyone has.


I really appreciate the help on this
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: editing my conky script

Postby linXea on Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:01 am

the systemwide conky config is found in /etc/conky. Put a .conkyrc in your homefolder. The .conkyrc will be read before the system try to load the systemwide config-file. Do all changes in /home/youusername/.conkyrc

    $ cp /etc/conky.conf ~/.conkyrc
    $ gedit ~/.conkyrc

and then edit the .conkyrc in your /home/user/ folder
Image
Dektop: AMD Quad-Core, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3650silent, 33TB harddrive
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad x201, Intel core2centrino P9600, 4GB RAM, 750gb
User avatar
linXea
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: editing my conky script

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:04 am

willie42@linux12 ~ $ cp /etc/conky.conf ~/.conkyrc
cp: cannot stat `/etc/conky.conf': No such file or directory
willie42@linux12 ~ $


not there.....

I do gedit ~/.conkyrc and just a blank form
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: editing my conky script

Postby linXea on Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:14 am

open nautilus and go to root --> etc --> 'find Conky.conf (if you have installed conky it will be there). Copy the file conky.conf and put it in your HOME-folder and rename it to ".conkyrc"

Now open gedit and open the file .conkyrc , remember that you need to "view hidden files" for it to show in nautilus.
Image
Dektop: AMD Quad-Core, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3650silent, 33TB harddrive
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad x201, Intel core2centrino P9600, 4GB RAM, 750gb
User avatar
linXea
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: editing my conky script

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:21 pm

do I do anything with the old files that are in root or leave them there?
:D
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: editing my conky script

Postby linXea on Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:33 pm

Just leave them, you might need them as templates in the future.
Image
Dektop: AMD Quad-Core, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3650silent, 33TB harddrive
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad x201, Intel core2centrino P9600, 4GB RAM, 750gb
User avatar
linXea
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: editing my conky script

Postby Habitual on Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:42 pm

Code: Select all
own_window yes            
own_window_colour brown         
own_window_transparent yes      
own_window_type desktop         
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes         
text_buffer_size 1024         
use_xft yes            
alignment bl            
gap_x 5               
gap_y 15            

# -== Colors, Sizes, & Margins ==- #
update_interval 1.0         
minimum_size 1439 113         
maximum_width 1439         
stippled_borders 3         
border_width 0            
default_color white         
pad_percents 2            
top_name_width 8         
default_bar_size 100 6         
short_units yes            

# -== Text ==- #
draw_outline no            
draw_borders no            
font Monospace:size=8:weight=bold   
uppercase no            
draw_shades yes            
mail_spool $MAIL

TEXT
/home $color${fs_used /home}/${fs_size /home} ${fs_bar /home}


save as ~/filename and run it with conky -c ~/filename

Change
alignment bl
gap_x 5
gap_y 15
to suit placement and taste.

See also http://conky-pitstop.wikidot.com/
Last edited by Habitual on Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
User avatar
Habitual
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce

Re: editing my conky script

Postby colyn on Sat Jan 01, 2011 1:44 pm

For more information on setting up your conky check the below thread.

viewtopic.php?f=60&t=30209
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I

Re: editing my conky script

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 5:51 pm

I would like to have a cool looking conky but my knowledge has not increased to that level yet to make such. I really dont now how to even start trying with out fear of goofing something up really bad. So I will most likely mess with the one on here and make little changes and progress from there
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests