[SOLVED] Conky and two monitors... absolute positioning?

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Conky and two monitors... absolute positioning?

Postby gosa on Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:44 am

Hi All,

I have a bit of a problem with getting Conky to work the way I want it. The problem is about positioning, and it occurs when I have two monitors connected to my graphics card.

This is my setup:

One desktop computer with an Nvidia Graphics card that I'm running perfectly with the help of sgfxi. To this card I've connected_
1. An Acer 22" monitor - resolution 1680*1050 - connected to my vga-port
2. A LG 32" TV - resolution 1360*768 - connected to my hdmi-port


The setup in Nvidia-settings are done with using twinview, with my Acer monitor being the primary monitor and the TV extending the desktop to the right of that monitor.
The reason I went for twinview was because I couldn't get my video apps to behave the way I wanted them to when I ran these "monitors" as separate x-screens. (Couldn't direct the fullscreen video to the TV in a good way). This works very well, and the movies behave exactly as I want them to.

My problem is that I've set up conky to be aligned to run top-right which works perfectly when I only have the Acer monitor connected to my computer, but when I connect the tv conky automatically jumps to the far right of the extended desktop - out of my sight.

So - my question is - is it possible to give conky a position by pixels rather than by left/right/top/bottom, so that I can enjoy seeing Conky in the same place no matter if I have one or two monitors connected?

Thanks in advance,
gosa

BTW - some of you might suggest changing the setup in nvidia-settings so that my TV ends up to the left of my Acer monitor. That would work - if it weren't for the fact that every application I launch seem to end up "out of view" for me, even though I specified the Acer monitor to be the principal monitor. It all ends up to the left of my view, and I have to "move" it back. So if someone can explain how I can get my applications to launch where I want them (in a quick and easy manner) I won'yt have to bother with Conkys positioning...

Ideas?
Last edited by gosa on Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gosa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Spain

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky and two monitors... absolute positioning?

Postby pluraldave on Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:31 pm

Yeah, basically you do exactly what you suggested. Align it to your top left and then define the number of pixels away from that point.

# Window size/position settings
alignment top_left
gap_x XX
gap_y YY

Change X and Y to whatever you want.
User avatar
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:05 am

Re: Conky and two monitors... absolute positioning?

Postby gosa on Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:41 pm

pluraldave wrote:Yeah, basically you do exactly what you suggested. Align it to your top left and then define the number of pixels away from that point.

# Window size/position settings
alignment top_left
gap_x XX
gap_y YY

Change X and Y to whatever you want.


Ok, that was a little bit too easy... :oops:

Thanks!
gosa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Spain


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests