Another Compiz Question

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Another Compiz Question

Postby untenops on Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:39 pm

Hi all. I'm a long time ubuntu user new Mint user. I recently installed LM 11 and I'm having a strange problem with my compiz. The only way I can get my cube to work is to start the Compiz Fusion icon then click this and hit reload windows manger. Then my cube will rotate, great! But I have to do this on ever start up. Any way to fix this? Was that way to little information? :)
Thanks for any help.
untenops
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Another Compiz Question

Postby karashata on Sat Jun 11, 2011 1:09 pm

The version of Compiz shipped with Mint 11 is somewhat buggy since Compiz completely rewrote their code and accidentally introduced some bugs. Right now the recommendation is to disable or uninstall Compiz, but if you absolutely must have it (or just really, really want it) you can install a more stable, older version using instructions found here: http://www.webupd8.org/2011/05/how-to-d ... 86-in.html

This has worked well for me and others here on the forums.
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Re: Another Compiz Question

Postby untenops on Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:55 pm

Thanks for the help. I downgraded and that went fine. But now Ive lost my cube. :(
untenops
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:48 am

Re: Another Compiz Question

Postby karashata on Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:42 pm

Did you make sure to install the plugin packages when you downgraded? That could account for the Cube plugin missing. Also, you'll need to reconfigure Compiz how you want it since the newer Compiz stores it settings in a different folder from the older version. (The newer version, if configured to use the GConf backend, stores its settings in ~/.gconf/compiz-1/ (~ being /home/<user name>) whereas the older version stores them in ~/.gconf/compiz.) You might be able to rename the folder and transfer your settings that way (though you'll need to configure Compiz to use the gconf backend first, the default setup is to use flat-file storage... You'll probably still need to manually enable and disable the plugins but any changes you made should be recognized).
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Re: Another Compiz Question

Postby untenops on Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:50 pm

Thanks again for your help. But I think I may have just messed things up to much. Every time I try to fix something, things just get worse. So I took the easy way out as I just don't have time to work on it right now. I deleted any and all config files I could find from my home and reinstalled. I still have no cube and it just seem like it doesn't matter what I do with compiz, there is no effect on my computer. Oh well, I left ubuntu for mint and lost my kewl cube. But at least I dont have to put up with that unity abomination. :)
untenops
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:48 am


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests