Running Compiz as a standalone WM - Weird problem with .....

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Running Compiz as a standalone WM - Weird problem with .....

Postby xircon on Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:13 pm

Chromium & Chrome.

I have been running Compiz as a standalone window manager. Chrome/Chromium were acting very strangely, did a bit of research and found a possible problem with gecko-mediaplayer plugin, so I disabled and it is running a lot better.

Sometimes, when I launch the browser it just hangs, eventually it asks me if I would like to kill the page or wait. So I kill the page then kill or shut the browser, but it always leaves three processes hanging. Has anybody else seen this?

Don't see this problem in Gnome, just in my Fusion desktop, have I missed launching something Chrome needs?

These are my scripts to run Compiz

Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
# This is the name you'll see for the session in gdm
Name=Fusion
# This is the comment
Comment=Compiz Fusion Standalone
# The command
Exec=/usr/local/bin/start-fusion.sh
Type=Application


Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
sudo umount ~/.gvfs
compiz --replace ccp &
emerald &         
fusion-icon &
yakuake &
parcellite &
dropbox start -i &
setxkbmap -option terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp &
/usr/bin/bluetooth-applet &
gnome-power-manager &
gnome-settings-daemon &
gnome-volume-control-applet &
autokey-gtk &
nm-applet &
# Mint proggies
/usr/bin/mintupdate-launcher &
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpload/launch-file-uploader.py &
python -u /home/molly/.screenlets/FolderView/FolderViewScreenlet.py &
screenlets-daemon &
#sleep 5
avant-window-navigator &
pino
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Running Compiz as a standalone WM - Weird problem with .

Postby xircon on Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:16 pm

Appears it is not just me:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=63621
Am reading it now :(

Apparently disabling gecko-mediaplayer only partially works, but if I try to remove it I get:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove gecko-mediaplayer
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  nautilus-share mint-flashplugin-square python-tz gobjc-4.5 mint-flashplugin libv8-2.2.24
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  gecko-mediaplayer mint-meta-codecs mint-meta-debian
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 3 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
After this operation, 807 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?


Is it safe to remove the Mint meta packages?
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Running Compiz as a standalone WM - Weird problem with .

Postby xircon on Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:11 am

Well, bit the bullet, removed gecko-mediaplayer (and the Mint meta packages) on the basis I could always put them back, no problems so far and chrome/chromium is running normally at last.

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests