[SOLVED]LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED]LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby fantab on Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:29 am

I use LMDE 64bit, Gnome. I like using COMPIZ and for which I have installed all the necessary components required to run COMPIZ, installed all the libraries and plugins. I have also installed CSM. I have changed the window manager from gnome-wm to compiz in gconf-tool. However, COMPIZ is not working. To test, I have tried to use WOBBLY WINDOWS and some other effects but nothing works. I have got COMPIZ to work on Ubuntu and on Debian Squeeze, so I have an idea as to what I am doing. Yet, since I have never used COMPIZ with LMDE, it is possible that I may have missed something.

I need guidance from this forum regarding this issue.

Thanks....
Last edited by fantab on Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Multiboot: Trusty; Arch; LMDE
User avatar
fantab
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:11 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby zerozero on Sat Aug 27, 2011 11:31 am

this how-to is from september (so it was written to the 201009 release) but i believe it's still worth a try
http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/168
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6467
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby fantab on Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:09 pm

zerozero wrote:this how-to is from september (so it was written to the 201009 release) but i believe it's still worth a try
http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/168

It didn't help. Someone on this forum has suggested that we may have to enable EMERALD in COMPIZ... I could not find that setting in COMPIZ...
The Synaptic does not even list EMERALD... I think it is not there in the installed LMDE repositories. Any suggestions...
Multiboot: Trusty; Arch; LMDE
User avatar
fantab
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:11 am

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby wyrdoak on Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:37 pm

you need a launcher in your startup applications, command line: compiz --replace

and in your compiz settings manager/windows decoration in the command line: gtk-window-decorator --replace


you may wish also to install the compiz icon, make launcher, command line: fusion-icon --no-start , in startup applications and add it you your panel for quick reset if nothing more.


After you make your setting you can test it by typing in terminal: compiz --replace

with this I have MetaCity themes, woobly windows and a windows animations.
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby fantab on Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:54 am

wyrdoak wrote:you need a launcher in your startup applications, command line: compiz --replace
and in your compiz settings manager/windows decoration in the command line: gtk-window-decorator --replace
you may wish also to install the compiz icon, make launcher, command line: fusion-icon --no-start , in startup applications and add it you your panel for quick reset if nothing more.
After you make your setting you can test it by typing in terminal: compiz --replace
with this I have MetaCity themes, woobly windows and a windows animations.


Thanks a lot wyrdoak, I have working COMPIZ now.
However, when I ran compiz --replace in the terminal I got the following WARNING:
Code: Select all
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXDestroyPixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported!  This is an application bug!

After this the process seems to have got stuck... it did not finish in the terminal.

Following is the complete output for compiz --replace in the terminal:

Code: Select all
$ compiz --replace
Backend     : gconf
Integration : true
Profile     : default
Adding plugins
Initializing core options...done
Initializing move options...done
Initializing resize options...done
Initializing place options...done
Initializing decoration options...done
Setting Update "command"
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXCreatePixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported!  This is an application bug!
Initializing commands options...done
Initializing workarounds options...done
Initializing neg options...done
Initializing mousepoll options...done
Initializing session options...done
Initializing vpswitch options...done
Initializing svg options...done
Initializing text options...done
Initializing shift options...done
Initializing gnomecompat options...done
Initializing imgjpeg options...done
Initializing resizeinfo options...done
Initializing obs options...done
Initializing wall options...done
Initializing wobbly options...done
Initializing animation options...done
Initializing expo options...done
Initializing fade options...done
Initializing ezoom options...done
Initializing staticswitcher options...done
Initializing scale options...done
Initializing scaleaddon options...done
Setting Update "cursor_size"
Setting Update "cursor_theme"
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXDestroyPixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported!  This is an application bug!


Any suggestions?
Multiboot: Trusty; Arch; LMDE
User avatar
fantab
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:11 am

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby AlbertP on Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:26 am

Please post the output of:
Code: Select all
inxi -Gx
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby wyrdoak on Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:27 am

we need the output to AlbertP post to see what we can do to help.
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby fantab on Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:36 am

AlbertP wrote:Please post the output of:
Code: Select all
inxi -Gx


Here is what I got,

~
Code: Select all
 $ inxi -Gx
Graphics:  Card Intel 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller X.Org 1.7.7 Res: 1920x1080@59.9hz
           GLX Renderer Mesa DRI Intel G45/G43 GEM 20091221 2009Q4  GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.7.1 Direct Rendering Yes
Multiboot: Trusty; Arch; LMDE
User avatar
fantab
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:11 am

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby AlbertP on Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:01 am

Can you enable 'gnome compositing' in the Desktop Settings (mintdesktop) program?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby fantab on Sun Sep 18, 2011 9:20 am

AlbertP wrote:Can you enable 'gnome compositing' in the Desktop Settings (mintdesktop) program?

I apologize for my late reply to your post...
YES I can enable 'gnome compositing' .
Multiboot: Trusty; Arch; LMDE
User avatar
fantab
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:11 am

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby AlbertP on Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:13 am

This option often enables Compiz. Please report back if it doesn't work.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby fantab on Sun Sep 18, 2011 11:30 am

AlbertP wrote:This option often enables Compiz. Please report back if it doesn't work.

COMPIZ was working without enabling 'gnome-compositing'.

fantab wrote:Thanks a lot wyrdoak, I have working COMPIZ now.
However, when I ran compiz --replace in the terminal I got the following WARNING:
Code: Select all
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXDestroyPixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported!  This is an application bug!

After this the process seems to have got stuck... it did not finish in the terminal.


I have the above issue yet COMPIZ is working satisfactorily..... I am saying this because I got the impression that you think COMPIZ is still not working for me.
Multiboot: Trusty; Arch; LMDE
User avatar
fantab
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:11 am

Re: LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby AlbertP on Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:01 pm

Then don't worry and just add [solved] to the title.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

[SOLVED] LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby fantab on Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:35 pm

AlbertP wrote:Then don't worry and just add [solved] to the title.


:lol: Thank you...
Multiboot: Trusty; Arch; LMDE
User avatar
fantab
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:11 am

Re: [SOLVED]LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby computekpr on Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:36 pm

To re-confirm it works...Mint 12 64bits...From Puerto Rico...Keep The Good Work...Thanks @AlbertP... :D
computekpr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:33 pm

Re: [SOLVED]LMDE- COMPIZ NOT WORKING

Postby AlbertP on Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:38 am

Mint 12 has no Compiz. Gnome 3 shell has built-in Compiz-like effects.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests