How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby sslotlikar on Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:38 am

Read The Following Instructions.Please Understand you will have to use gnome Classic

http://www.howtoforge.com/enabling-comp ... 2-gnome-12
sslotlikar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Sat Dec 17, 2011 6:51 am

you dont have to use gnome classic.i used this on mint 12 and it works the same on ubuntu 11.10
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=86822
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby sslotlikar on Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:13 am

I'm sorry by classic i meant the Old Gnome, i.e. 2.3 & older. But if it does work then Excellent! i will try it out today . Was afraid to utilize it because i thought it would break Gnome Shell. Thanks!
sslotlikar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:46 am

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:18 am

no by installing cairo dock core it enables another desktop environment which lets you use compiz.it works for ubuntu 11.10.mint 12.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby louisblank on Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:02 pm

I just installed Mint12 last night and I was looking for a way to get compiz working as well...

You're right, Cairo Dock took care of it - Perfect! I have Wobbly, Previews, Animations, Cube, all working (without using MATE or Classic).

Here is a video that explains it...

http://youtu.be/29AW5HZN904

To get this going: go to software center and install cairo-dock core and run it from the desktop you are in.

Now log out and click the icon from where it lets you choose your desktop - you should see an option for cairo-dock(gnome+effects) log into it.

Now you can install compiz and your favorite effects.


Have fun with it!
louisblank
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:24 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:16 pm

glad to have helped
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:28 am

If I could get the update indicator to work on the dock, that is all I would use. All other notifications are there but I can't get the update one to work. :wink:
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:49 am

still trying to get it to work i see robin.try dragging and dropping it in your dock.i really dont play in mine so i wouldnt know what to tell ya.i dont think there is really anything posted on the web about it either.i'll have a look and get back to you on that.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:53 am

podagee wrote:still trying to get it to work i see robin.try dragging and dropping it in your dock.i really dont play in mine so i wouldnt know what to tell ya.i dont think there is really anything posted on the web about it either.i'll have a look and get back to you on that.



I have that working now actually but I can't get the black box to go away around the dock. I have tried the composite toggler and it says "no composite available" but I have everything enabled. Running compiz --replace does nothing. Any other clues?
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:01 am

the black box around your dock was probably because you used the compisitor which i think i said not to use.it does that.for me i just logged out and back in for it to disappear.compositing is not used in the cairo dock session as far as ive had it on i never needed it.if its still around your dock you probably have to un-install and re-install.
heres the repository:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:cairo-dock-team/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install cairo-dock cairo-dock-plug-ins

and you can get applets here: http://glx-dock.org/mc_album.php?a=7

also if you have ubuntu tweak installed clean up your package configs and unneeded packages to get a fresh install of cairo
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:24 am

Well I uninstalled and reinstalled and I still have the black box. I have logged out and then rebooted, but nothing changed
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:29 am

dont know are you running 32 or 64 bit?
could be a graphics card issue maybe.
a better solution maybe why i never noticed it but i have a black wallpaper so it doesnt show
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:31 am

I am running 32bit and what gets me is I open compiz settings and enable opengl and all that and when I close it, it disables what I just activated. The thing is I had it working before so I don't get what the problem is :roll:
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Wed Dec 21, 2011 2:15 am

try making sure gnome compatability is checked.if thats not it i dont know what to tell you
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:35 pm

Podagee, I still cannot figure this out. I can run compiz fine in gnome classic but the black box shows when I go to the cairo dock with effects session. I have tried running compiz-decorator --replace and it does nothing. It just says "starting unity-window-manager" but nothing changes. I need the compiz decorator and cannot get it. The only option with the fusion icon is for the gtk decorator. I don't get it. Let me know if you have any thoughts.


Robin
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:55 pm

ill get back to you on that robin.i have had no issues with the install or black box only when using compisiter.my compisiter in compiz works fine and as far as decorations,i'll get back to you on that one.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:57 pm

podagee wrote:ill get back to you on that robin.i have had no issues with the install or black box only when using compisiter.my compisiter in compiz works fine and as far as decorations,i'll get back to you on that one.



Ok pod. That is definitely the issue. Compiz does not even show as running. it shows metacity even though compiz is selected as window decorator.
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:27 pm

I think this is my problem but I don't know how to fix it:


http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1771968
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby podagee on Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:41 pm

as far as that being your problem double check that the settings for windows manger settings,windows maximizer,etc...are checked.its also hard robin cause i dont know the specs you have.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: How To Run Compiz On Linux Mint 12

Postby z06gal on Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:03 pm

podagee wrote:as far as that being your problem double check that the settings for windows manger settings,windows maximizer,etc...are checked.its also hard robin cause i dont know the specs you have.



Someone has already filed a bug report so it's not just me. I would downgrade metacity but that would remove mgse which I do not want to do. I think I'll just wait till it gets ironed out. Thanks podagee :wink:
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest