Changing Compiz Fusion settings does nothing

Add functionality to your desktop
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
stephenskocpol

Changing Compiz Fusion settings does nothing

Post by stephenskocpol »

Hello everyone,

I am going to try to keep this post short. If there's any nevesary info missing, please tell me!

I have a Lenovo laptop (Thinkpad Edge 15) with a dualcore Intel Celeron + Intel GMA 4500 HD graphics. I had been running LM11 for a couple of months until I upgraded to LM12. After a week or so I decided I liked LM11 more (I missed Gnome 2) and went back to it. Everything was okay.

Now today I was tinkering with compiz-fusion's many effects (in ccsm, I think is its name) just trying to do some tweaking. Instead of achieving anything I accidentally reset something and lost a couple of effects I liked. I tried setting them back - it took me a hell of a time to figure out which effects they were in the first place - but even when I changed the settings back to the way I wanted them to be, nothing happens. I've tried a couple of different things and no matter what I change, none of my effects get applied. No matter what I try. I've tried changing the configuration to the way I wanted it and rebooting. ccsm still contains the settings as I had set it up, but the effects don't show up in my window. This is very frustrating and I am at whit's end. Why doesn't anything happen?? I've even managed to turn off that snap/grid/whateveryoucallit effect which I use a lot, without turning it off in the settings. HELP!

Stephen
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
stephenskocpol

Re: Changing Compiz Fusion settings does nothing

Post by stephenskocpol »

I think I may have found the problem.