Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby Bronko on Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:24 am

Hi Guys :-)
Is it a good idea from the Gnome Developer to forgot Compiz and write new one like Mutter ?
Compiz is the fastes and very Notebook friendly. Is there any chance to get compiz running on Cinnamon ?
Bronko
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby remoulder on Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:18 am

Cinnamon is a fork of gnome-shell, it uses mutter and is not compatible with compiz.
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby HardyH on Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:07 pm

Just use Gnome 3 Fallback/Classic, it works perfectly with compiz
H.
HardyH
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby Bronko on Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:20 pm

thx for the tip :-)
Bronko
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:32 pm

Re: Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby HardyH on Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:09 pm

Get Gnome 3 Classic, ( Gnome-FAllback_Session) get Compiz, get ccsm, get fusion-icon to switch to compiz and put fusion-icon into your startup applications, .
Then enjoy the good old look and feel of G2 under G3 without mutter and Gnome-Shell in the background.
This is how Cinnamon should work, I don't see a point in spending immense amounts of time and energy to make Cinnamon look and feel like something that already exists form of Gnome3 classic.
H.
P.S. To configure the Gnome 3 classic panels under Compiz, you have to press super(windows)-ctrl and the right mouse button
HardyH
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby zerozero on Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:21 pm

HardyH wrote:This is how Cinnamon should work, I don't see a point in spending immense amounts of time and energy to make Cinnamon look and feel like something that already exists form of Gnome3 classic.

because most likely next march (gnome3.4) or sept (gnome3.6) the fallback mode might not be around anymore;

as soon as gnome-shell works without hardware acceleration (the work already started and F17 probably will bring that "feature" by default more info here) the gnome-team devs can
Gnome can phase out some components that are only kept alive because they are needed in the fallback mode, which allows more resources to be focused on improving Gnome 3.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby HardyH on Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:55 pm

Well, for Gnome 3.4, Gnome Panel is still around, and before Gnome 3.6 comes to Debian, there's enough time for some apt-pinning.
Besides that, Cinnamon is a fork, right? So who cares about Gnome 3.4, .5 or .6 when it's a fork anyway?
And when the Gnome devs drop Gnome Panel, then they prove to be liars, cause Vincent Untz said last year, that the Fallback mode will be kept over the lifespan of Gnome 3
H.
HardyH
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Cinnamon forgot Compiz

Postby Bronko on Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:11 pm

At this time im runnig at LMDE and still waiting for the gnome 3 repos :(
Bronko
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests