Conky slightly offscreen [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Conky slightly offscreen [SOLVED]

Postby stozi on Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:17 pm

I just got LMDE running on my new eeepc. So far really, really happy with it. I use Openbox, and have set up conky for the first time, (using the 6th config file here: http://conky.sourceforge.net/screenshots.html). But conky shows up slightly off screen, and maybe I'm an idiot but I don't see where in .conkyrc to shove it over a few pixels.

Thanks very much!
Last edited by stozi on Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
stozi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky slightly offscreen

Postby xenopeek on Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:13 pm

Moved here by moderator
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15276
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Conky slightly offscreen

Postby Habitual on Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:41 pm

stozi:

6th where on that screen?
I checked this one
Code: Select all
# conky configuration
# edited by darcon@gmail.com


Open your local copy of conkyrc file in gedit/kate/vi/whatever and adjust
gap_x NN
gap_y NN
where NN is the number of pixels from the position "alignment" is set to.

darcon's is set to:
Code: Select all
gap_x 450
gap_y 1
alignment top_left


gap_x here is 450 pixels from left.
gap_y here is 1 pixel from the top so he must moved his panel somewhere other than the top of the screen.

for example:
alignment tm
gap_x 00
gap_y 40

gap_x here is 00 pixels from top-middle
and gap_y is 40 pixels down from top-middle.

gap_x is left-right adjustment
and gap_y is up/down from the alignment placement.


NOTE: Make these changes in gedit and save the file, there is no need to close it as conky will read it and refresh accordingly.
close it once it's "perfect". :)

If that fails post your
gap_x
gap_y
alignment

from the conkyrc file you have on your system.

HTH.
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
User avatar
Habitual
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce

Re: Conky slightly offscreen

Postby stozi on Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:59 pm

Great, Thanks!! Ya, you got the .conkyrc I meant. With alignment top-left I just set gap_x to 400 and everything's gravy (one pixel off the right side, don't ask me).
stozi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:44 pm

Re: Conky slightly offscreen

Postby Habitual on Sat Mar 10, 2012 4:29 pm

Glad it worked out. :)
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
User avatar
Habitual
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests