Alt + F1 and Alt + F2 doesn't work on Compiz and Metacity

Alt + F1 and Alt + F2 doesn't work on Compiz and Metacity

Postby Tin_Tin on Tue Jun 05, 2012 5:03 pm

I just installed LMDE and really like it. However, I can't get these two keys to work.

Alt+F1 to open menu
Alt + F2 to open run dialog

I've already spent 4 hours trying to figure it out but no luck.

Thanks,
Tin_Tin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 4:59 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Alt + F1 and Alt + F2 doesn't work on Compiz and Metacit

Postby xenopeek on Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:52 am

Moved here by moderator
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14890
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Alt + F1 and Alt + F2 doesn't work on Compiz and Metacit

Postby jswmcw on Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:47 pm

Tin_Tin wrote:I just installed LMDE and really like it. However, I can't get these two keys to work.

Alt+F1 to open menu
Alt + F2 to open run dialog

I've already spent 4 hours trying to figure it out but no luck.

Thanks,


I have the same issue. I have not figured out the Alt+F1, but I never use that. As a workaround for the run dialog, you can install gmrun. Then, you can set up Alt+F2 to launch gmrun in the commands section of ccsm. This has worked for me.
jswmcw
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: Alt + F1 and Alt + F2 doesn't work on Compiz and Metacit

Postby jasmineaura on Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:58 pm

Much more elegant, native solution (than using gmrun/grun) here: http://forums.mate-desktop.org/viewtopi ... =123#p1461
User avatar
jasmineaura
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:38 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Alt + F1 and Alt + F2 doesn't work on Compiz and Metacit

Postby atarixle on Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:55 am

Quick and Dirty Alt+F1:

To activate the Alt+F1 keystroke, you can use the xte tool to simulate the mouseclick onto the menu.

As I have the Main Menu in the region of the upper-left corner, for me the command is

Code: Select all
xte 'keyup F1' 'keyup Alt' 'mousemove 25 10' 'mousedown 1' 'mouseup 1'


Simply enter this line in ccsm > Commands > Command line x, and set the keybinding to Alt+F1 in the Key Bindungs tab.

For you, enter the screen-position of the main menu on your screen behind the mousemove command.

Note, that it is neccassary to 'keyup F1' and 'keyup Alt', as the main menu does not appear when these keys are pressed (double weird, huh?).

Yes, the mouse will move to your menu, and doesn't stay at the position it was before. But this should be ok, as you just decided to control your PC via keyboard at this very moment.

The xte command by the way is part of the xautomation package in debian based Linux'es.
atarixle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 1:19 pm


Return to MATE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest