Standard action icons in Qt apps not matching selected theme

Standard action icons in Qt apps not matching selected theme

Postby willsha360 on Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:02 pm

This may be somewhat nitpicky, but I have noticed that several programs written with Qt do not respect the icon theme as set in xfce4-appearance-settings. All of my Qt apps still use the default Mint-X icon theme for toolbars, icons in menus, etc., which causes them to look a bit out of place compared to other programs. I have several icon themes installed; switching them in the appearance settings affects the rest of the system, but does nothing for Qt apps.
Example programs are: designer-qt4, transmission-qt
This doesn't apply to KDE apps (I believe these are written using Qt libraries as well), which seem to have their own icon theme altogether.

Looking at the transmission-qt program source code, the icons are returned by a call to QIcon::fromTheme().
I perused the Qt API documentation and opendesktop specs, but I couldn't find any configuration file that tells the Qt library where to get these icons from.

The qtconfig program looked promising, as it allows configuring many aspects of the appearance of Qt apps, but there is nothing there to set the icon theme.

I realize that I could probably rename the Mint-X icon directory and symlink it to the icon theme I want, but I think there's a better solution out there.

Oh, I'm running LMDE amd64 XFCE update pack 4.
Thanks!
willsha360
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 4:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Standard action icons in Qt apps not matching selected t

Postby cra1g321 on Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:12 pm

not sure if LM has this (might need to be installed), but when I'm on Debian i run
Code: Select all
qtconfig qt4
in a terminal, set the theme to GTK+ and the font,

Close the window, it will ask do i want to save, hit yes and my QT programs instantly match up near perfect with my GTK programs.
PC - Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970 , AMD Bulldozer FX-4 4170, Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB 1600MHz C9, Zotac Geforce 8800GT AMP Edition, OS's = Linux / WIN7
User avatar
cra1g321
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:19 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Standard action icons in Qt apps not matching selected t

Postby willsha360 on Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:17 am

This didn't work for me. It seems everything else matches my system theme, just not the action icons (ie new file, save, save as, etc.) on the toolbars and menus.
I will poke around a bit more and see what I can find out.
willsha360
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 4:27 pm


Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests