LMDE KDE

LMDE KDE

Postby Arran on Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:41 am

Despite the shabby behaviour of our developper(s) not giving the world one of the most used desktop, KDE, I want to try it.

Has anybody a tutorial or a list of how to proceed to install a full KDE suite? Which repos do I have to install? I need always the newest stable releases of Gimp, LibreOffice, Firefox and Thunderbird, resp Iceweasel and Icdove, without waiting for the Mint-Repos. All the rest is OK what is offered by Mint.

I am now on LMDE Mate, straight out of the box, just one update and dist-upgrade. Only the FF and TB 12 (already old!!!!!!!!!!!!) have been anounced. gimp is still 2.6.12 and LibreOffice is also well behind the newest version, acutually badly behind with 3.4.5 instead of 3.5.3.

As Clem often states, Linux is about choice, so I choose my above necessities and hope, I can find help here.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Image
OS: Mint12 KDE, Graphic: Nvidia I4800-GS, Monitor: HP LP2065, «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!
User avatar
Arran
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby xenopeek on Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:01 pm

hellfire695 is working on a KDE respin of LMDE (using Clem's tutorial http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/918), that might be interesting as a steppingstone to your other mentioned goals? See topic here: viewtopic.php?f=201&t=104111 Not sure what hellfire695's progress is though.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14540
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby craigevil on Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:58 pm

I suggest you read the info in the Debian sid thread, upgrade to sid and install KDE from there.

$ apt-cache policy gimp
gimp:
Installed: 2.8.0-2+b1
Candidate: 2.8.0-2+b1
Version table:
*** 2.8.0-2+b1 0
500 http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

$ apt-cache policy libreoffice
libreoffice:
Installed: 1:3.5.4-3
Candidate: 1:3.5.4-3
Version table:
*** 1:3.5.4-3 0
500 http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

$ apt-cache policy dolphin
dolphin:
Installed: 4:4.8.4-1
Candidate: 4:4.8.4-1
Version table:
*** 4:4.8.4-1 0
500 http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


$ apt-cache policy iceweasel
iceweasel:
Installed: 13.0-1
Candidate: 13.0-1
Version table:
*** 13.0-1 0
1 http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ experimental/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
10.0.5esr-1 0
500 http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages


Rather than worrying about Firefox and Thunderbird in the repos, just download them from Mozilla.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:13.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/13.0
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:13.0) Gecko/20120601 Thunderbird/13.0
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby Arran on Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:45 am

Thanks for your replies.

I think, craigevil's suggestion is just about meeting my desires (the computer ones, though :lol: )

But now, I have to admit, I can do nothing about getting this, due to the fact I have no idea how to proceed. Is there some more info on how to do this?
When I click on the links, I get a huge list with cryptical names which are not really telling me much. Except, that I need to look for amd64 packages.

And where would I find the «info in the Debian sid thread»?

Many thanks for your future help to get a good system on my computers.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Image
OS: Mint12 KDE, Graphic: Nvidia I4800-GS, Monitor: HP LP2065, «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!
User avatar
Arran
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby craigevil on Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:34 pm

First change your sources.list

Code: Select all
## sid ##
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian unstable main contrib non-free
deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org sid main non-free


Use any text editor as root
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

comment your current list #
and copy & paste the one above


Install apt-listbugs and apt-listchanges
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get install apt-listbugs apt-listchanges


You will most likely have to adjust apt.preferences, I suggest searching the forum. There is a thread somewhere
about installing KDE on LMDE. Personally I would just ditch the entire preferences file, as it is more trouble than help.

Update , and dist-upgrade to sid
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade


See the sid thread about any current breakage in sid.
viewtopic.php?f=198&t=70230

See the LMDE FAQ - viewtopic.php?f=197&t=91405

Install KDE
Code: Select all
apt-get install kde-full

or
Code: Select all
apt-get install kde-standard
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby BostonPeng on Tue Jun 12, 2012 4:47 pm

Just an FYI, but I'm running KDE 4.8.3 (from qt-kde.debian.net) on LMDE + Testing (Wheezy), not Sid. I"m not sure why the recommendation to move to Sid repos first but my laptop is proof you can get updated KDE packages without the added risk of things breaking more often on a system running Sid. I had written a blog post a while back about how I got KDE 4.7.4 on LMDE UP3 but I didn't update it when I installed it on this (replacement) laptop. Should I go back and do that? I think I can remember all the steps I took to get where I am now.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby craigevil on Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:42 pm

BostonPeng wrote:Just an FYI, but I'm running KDE 4.8.3 (from qt-kde.debian.net) on LMDE + Testing (Wheezy), not Sid. I"m not sure why the recommendation to move to Sid repos first but my laptop is proof you can get updated KDE packages without the added risk of things breaking more often on a system running Sid. I had written a blog post a while back about how I got KDE 4.7.4 on LMDE UP3 but I didn't update it when I installed it on this (replacement) laptop. Should I go back and do that? I think I can remember all the steps I took to get where I am now.


qt-kde mirrors have been purged, since 4.8.4 packages are available in Debian sid.
Because there is nothing in the qt-kde repo.

Trust me Debian Testing breaks way way more than Sid. And the OP doesn't just want KDE, he wants things like newer LibreOffice, newer GIMP (which is probably in Testing as well, etc. In other words he wants newer packages in general.
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby BostonPeng on Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:15 am

craigevil wrote:
qt-kde mirrors have been purged, since 4.8.4 packages are available in Debian sid.
Because there is nothing in the qt-kde repo.

Trust me Debian Testing breaks way way more than Sid. And the OP doesn't just want KDE, he wants things like newer LibreOffice, newer GIMP (which is probably in Testing as well, etc. In other words he wants newer packages in general.

Ah, ok, I missed that. Thanks for the clarification. I actually didn't go with sid because I was trying to avoid having the number of packages being held back I had with my old install. I guess now I get to decide if I want to stay with 4.8.3 or move to 4.8.4, complete with the hit I'll put on Starbucks' wifi to get all the newer packages. It's a busy store and the wifi can get pretty slow even without my snagging a whole host of packages.

I've got Gimp 2.8.0 from testing, and I see we have updated LibreOffice 3.5.4 final packages this am. I'll snag this morning's updates once I confirm there aren't any gotchas in today's batch.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby Arran on Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:35 am

Hello

Thanks for your infos. I have followed the advice above and after
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade

I had to stop the computer for a few hours. Once restarting, I get the bash asking me for my login and password. That was OK.
So I typed in
Code: Select all
sudo apt/get install kde/full

and got a list of about 15 to 20 unmet dependencies and the installation was abandoned.

I then made a
Code: Select all
sudo update-grub
but after restarting I still did not get a graphical log-in panel.

I had on a German speaking forum got a list of the files to install KDE and delete Mate and Cinnamon and made that before changing to SID. Can this be the reason for this fault?

Before I do anything on the installation, I am waiting for an answer and am back to my working Mint (Lisa12 KDE), awaiting your suggestions. I do not mind to reinstall LMDE once more, it would be the fourth time. But bear in mind, my internet connection runs on a max of 60 kib/s, so I have to do the long downloads during the time I am sucking on the pillows.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Image
OS: Mint12 KDE, Graphic: Nvidia I4800-GS, Monitor: HP LP2065, «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!
User avatar
Arran
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby Arran on Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:30 pm

No chance of a response?
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Image
OS: Mint12 KDE, Graphic: Nvidia I4800-GS, Monitor: HP LP2065, «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!
User avatar
Arran
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby BostonPeng on Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:34 pm

I'm not sure why you're having your problem. I'm hoping someone smarter (Craig?) will come along and have the info you need.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby toad on Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:42 am

Damn, I just recently installed LMDE and put a KDE on it but didn't keep any notes (do I ever!). I do remember it being a bit tricky having to first install the packages apt was moaning about. But don't be fooled, you can install KDE and it is all there - I didn't fiddle with my sources.list :)
never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::
User avatar
toad
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:04 am

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby BostonPeng on Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:52 am

I did a reinstall over the weekend from lmdekde32_201208.iso and I was able to install KDE without a hitch. I suspect Schoelje took care of the missing package for us so if you're wanting KDE on LMDE I strongly recommend using Schoelje's respin. It came out right after I had done an LMDE reinstall and this weekend's partial nuke and pave (I keep a separate /home partition) worked so well on my laptop that it was well worth the hassle of the reinstall.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: LMDE KDE

Postby rdonnelly on Sat Oct 05, 2013 8:14 am

I used this link from Debian, it does a clean install and cleanup.

https://wiki.debian.org/KDE
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest