Refining Linux Mint official logo

Show your artwork
Forum rules
No support questions here please

Refining Linux Mint official logo

Postby fdinis on Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:22 pm

Hi!
I'm a completely new at Linux and I've recently installed Mint 16 Cinnamon in VirtualBox. It's a great system.
Since I have a degree in graphic design, I thought I could help the Linux team in this regard. Although I like the Linux Mint symbol, it lacks some refinement and coherence betweek pieces, so it can have a more polished brand look. My suggestion would be to keep the Linux Mint symbol and refine the "Linux Mint" text. This way we won't break with the history of the Linux Mint brand but bring it to a more professional level.
I've adjusted the LM symbol slightly (centering elements). I've made the "Linux Mint" text based on the "L" "M" used on the symbol. Note that I made "Mint" larger that the word "Linux". This was intentional.

Original logo:

Logo (1 color variation):

Logo (vertical variation)
fdinis
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Refining Linux Mint official logo

Postby austin.texas on Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:04 pm

Very creative, and attractive.
Progress and change are good things - without them you go the way of the Roman Empire.
Mint 17 v2 Cinnamon (64 bit), Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

To help Linux Mint with a donation, please visit http://www.linuxmint.com/donors.php
austin.texas
Level 11
Level 11

Postby Zorba on Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:29 pm

Wow I love these logos man :shock: :shock: What if you make the T a leaf :D

Zorba
Level 8
Level 8

Postby daveinuk on Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:35 pm

I love that first one

The 'T' could do with a little tweak for me though, looks a bit 'Y'ish if you get me . . . . bar that, brilliant stuff :P