Bring in the GTK globalmenu patch.

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
No support questions here please.
Do not post ideas for application developers. Please use GitHub for Cinnamon and Nemo ideas.

Bring in the GTK globalmenu patch.

Postby Ferdil on Fri Apr 11, 2008 1:04 pm

I think you should insert in the repositories this GTK patch, and the relative gnome/xfce applet, that moves the menubar at the top of the screen (like MacOSs).
The global menu can be easily activated and deactivated by removing
The new user shouldn't obviously be forced to use it, but adding the applet to the panel (maybe marking it as 'experimental') would give an interesting feature, and will help to spread the word about this great project. If the applet is not activated, no UI changes are made.
The size is very small, the GTK patch is only 50 lines of code, and the applet is very small.
I actually use the global menu bar, and I find it faster and easier to reach.

Just my opinion. :mrgreen:
Don't blame me for my bad english. This is not my native language.

Are the decisions that you make, when you have no time to make them, that define who you are.

Image
User avatar
Ferdil
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:40 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Bring in the GTK globalmenu patch.

Postby BlahBlah_X on Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:35 am

First of all, doesn't gnome have to be recompiled to get it to work? Thats a pretty big deal.

Secondly, it is ridden with bugs. Experimental, buggy software rarely makes itself into LTS editions.

Thirdly, it doesn't even work that well (in my opinion).
User avatar
BlahBlah_X
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Walrus Teeth

Re: Bring in the GTK globalmenu patch.

Postby Ferdil on Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:39 am

It IS experimental, but the recompiled GTK is almost equal to the original one. except from those 50 lines of only added lines. The GTK patch only "sends" to the applet the information about the menus, so the bugs would only affect users that use the applet.

But, yes, you're right. There shouldn't be experimental software in LTSs. :(
Don't blame me for my bad english. This is not my native language.

Are the decisions that you make, when you have no time to make them, that define who you are.

Image
User avatar
Ferdil
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:40 am


Return to Suggestions & New Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests