Cinnamon "grid" icons

Suggestions and feedback for Linux Mint and the forums
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read: Where to post ideas & feature requests
Syndacate

Cinnamon "grid" icons

Post by Syndacate »

I've been dying for this feature for like the last 4 years, but apparently nobody on the gnome 2.X projct gives a shit about the rather small grouping of people, myself included, who wanted it.

I was wondering if it was *possible* for Cinnamon since the Mint project seems to listen a lot more to end user feedback, from what I understand.

The feature is SIMPLE, KDE does it, Windows (all flavors) does it, OS X does it. Gnome 2.X is literally the only thing that does not. This is that the icon grid overlaps like crazy. I shouldn't be able to move an icon 2mm down and have it snap to ANOTHER grid. On most desktop environments the grid has no overlap, so icons will never be on top of each other. I have seen no way to fix this, nobody seems to care, guess this post is kind of gaging the apathy here.

The reason is not only how nice it looks for sanity's sake, but when other people are introduced to Linux they typically meet the Gnome interface, and they typically think, after this experience, that "Linux looks like shit" - because they were exposed to a messy Gnome 2.X overlapping grid where the icons are barely aligned (if at all), and probably overlapping. It's annoying, it's pointless, it's beyond hideous, and being a developer, I'd really think that it's very easy to implement (fix). This is because the snapping feature is already there, the grid axes just has to be re-worked.

Any thoughts? Just a useless idea? *shrugs*

Thx for reading!
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Cinnamon "grid" icons

Post by xenopeek »

As this is a suggestion, moving it here.

The desktop is managed by your file manager, so this would be a suggestion for Nemo (Cinnamon's file manager from version 1.6 onwards).
Syndacate

Post by Syndacate »