search function

Suggestions and feedback for Linux Mint and the forums
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read: Where to post ideas & feature requests
n0body_special
Level 3
Level 3

search function

Post by n0body_special »

i am quite new to the world of linux, and i have to say it is harder than i expected. I also have to say that i love this operating system (mint in particular) more than i expected.

However, i had to study many forums, hours over hours, just to discover how to do the simplest of things: SEARCH for files.
I had already found the tracker search tool that comes together with the distro, and i believe it's such a weird, complicated, buggy and stupid program, that it's almost useless for the job it's supposed to be doing. I spent many hours to reach that conclusion. Maybe it's just because i'm a newbie, but i found many people had the same opinion in many forums all over the internet. It finally crashed my system, because of the tracker deamon using too much cpu, and needless to say, it never detected a single file.

So? I tried to find another way of searching, i couldn't believe that this strange and incomprehensible tool named tracker search tool was the only search capability of linux mint.
The problem was that i couldn't search the linux mint forums, because the words "find" and "files" got rejected by the search engine for being too common. There was no other word i could use to find what i was looking for, other than the word "search"... I ended up looking in google...
I read about the "find" command that one can use in the terminal, but i had to say it made me angry, because i expected a simpler way of searching files than this.
After A LOT of study (i want to emphasise on that) i read about the gnome-search-tool. I typed it in terminal (it wasn't in my mintmenu) and VOILA! A search tool for normal people. Needless to say, i fell in love with
it.

My suggestions are: