language in bianca KDE dvd

Contribute ideas for future releases.
Forum rules
No support questions here please.
Suggestion & new ideas for Cinnamon go on GitHub.

language in bianca KDE dvd

Postby lorenzolorenzo on Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:39 pm

why don't we add some more languages in this dvd edition?? in a little space we can fit other languages, like italian, for example :D
User avatar
lorenzolorenzo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:37 am

Please post in the appropriate forum
The KDE DVD is "locked" but it's easy to add a new language with apt-get or synaptics, sorry its called adept in KDE :) (don't know about add/remove programs)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby lorenzolorenzo on Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:52 am

excuse me... i'm new... i will learn to post in the right section.
User avatar
lorenzolorenzo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:02 pm

Postby marcus0263 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:29 am

Better yet, why don't we just have the selection of what languages @ install? I only speak English and Bad English, there's absolutely no reason to have 20+ languages installed that are completely useless.

Just a thought.
Shuttle SX58
Intel i7 Gulftown Hex Core
G.Skill 16Gig 1333
OCS Vertex 2 SSD
Segate SATA II
Palit GeForce GTS 450
LMKDE 14 64Bit

Where Thought Crime is Committed
Reject the Herd
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:02 pm

Agreed, even if I speak a handful of languages :)
I'd only need two at the most (english and swedish)
But - I believe this has been discussed elsewhere in the forum and I am pretty sure there is some kind of tutorial on how to remove them....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby marcus0263 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:07 pm

Husse wrote:Agreed, even if I speak a handful of languages :)
I'd only need two at the most (english and swedish)
But - I believe this has been discussed elsewhere in the forum and I am pretty sure there is some kind of tutorial on how to remove them....

All that needs to be done use synaptic to remove them, but still it's a pain you know ;-)
Shuttle SX58
Intel i7 Gulftown Hex Core
G.Skill 16Gig 1333
OCS Vertex 2 SSD
Segate SATA II
Palit GeForce GTS 450
LMKDE 14 64Bit

Where Thought Crime is Committed
Reject the Herd
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:58 am

I only have a vague memory of it, but I think that some "shortcut" was posted, but I may be wrong....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby mayku on Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:59 pm

Why not do a cd with different languages like a windows? It can becomes very greats popularity and you can see on the website where are the most-downloaded ISO to make the language of the land as default for next release. Because i think, for me English is not a very great problem, but for a noob it can be seriously. And if you install with another selected language on Mint, the MENU on English make me unsure for newbies. (please keep this menu, he is the best menu i ever seen!) :D

Just a thought, and greetings for all developers and users of this wonderful Distro

Mayku
User avatar
mayku
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 4:26 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Suggestions & New Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests