Dual boot on Android

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
No support questions here please.
No ideas for application developers here please. For example instead use GitHub for Cinnamon and Nemo.

Dual boot on Android

Postby zmindless on Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:33 am

hi,

I'd like to be able to dual boot my Android phone to Mint to be able to hook it up with bluetooth keyboard and mouse and use video-out to hook up some TV or monitor to it and use it like a lightweight laptop! I've seen somebody tried this with Ubuntu and succeeded somewhat.
zmindless
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Dual boot on Android

Postby ThistleWeb on Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:42 am

Mint or Ubuntu as a dual boot on a smartphone? It's totally different architecture. Phones and tablets are ARM, regular distros don't come built for ARM. There are videos of people getting Ubuntu working to some degree on a tablet but it's a million miles from just downloading, and burning an iso. Apart from the CPU, the UI is totally different, and touch / non-touch. If that wasn't enough, phones are not generic hardware. They are at the stage regular PC hardware used to be at, where every vendor is closed.
Crivens!
User avatar
ThistleWeb
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Dual boot on Android

Postby zmindless on Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:54 am

I understand it's ARM but there's many distros for ARM around! For the touch/non touch part: It's not so important if the plan is to use external mouse, keyboard and monitor in the first place!
zmindless
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:29 am

Re: Dual boot on Android

Postby ThistleWeb on Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:45 am

Sorry I forgot the part about the peripherals. I must be missing something, I've not seen any ARM distros, could you give us some examples? All I see are lots of Android builds for specific phones because the hardware isn't generic. It may be possible to do what you are trying to do, but it won't be easy, and I'm guessing require a lot of trial and error.
Crivens!
User avatar
ThistleWeb
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Scotland


Return to Suggestions & New Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests