Run Program mintMenu Feature

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
No support questions here please.
No ideas for application developers here please. For example instead use GitHub for Cinnamon and Nemo.

Run Program mintMenu Feature

Postby AlexSlocker on Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:01 pm

I think it would be great to make the search bar of the mintMenu also a launch bar. I mean, if I'm looking for Firefox or GIMP, for example, I wrote down 'firefox' or 'gimp' but instinctly I press enter hoping the program to launch. So just include this feature should be great. Maybe make it resemble to Alt+F2 tool, but with search option. Because perhaps I can't remember which command I need to write to launch a program, but I remember his name or description. And it's quite disgusting when I found a program that I have to take de mouse, go to the button, click and then launch it.
AlexSlocker
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Run Program mintMenu Feature

Postby Husse on Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:08 am

You can type just a few letters and see a selection of a few programs - then click the right one
Thats how I use it.
To do it "your way" would mean typing the whole name....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Run Program mintMenu Feature

Postby AlexSlocker on Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:46 am

I didn't explained it properly then. What I meant is just type a few letters and then mintMenu start to search, like it does right now. For example, if I put 'fire', then mintMenu just show me Firefox, so, when I press enter, and, as Firefox it's just the only application that matches the 'fire' I wrote, then it launches. The problem will be when there are more than one application that matches the query I wrote. It happens if we write 'net' for example, there are 3 or 4 matches. In that case we have what is working right now, which is if I press up and down cursor keys I can move through the found applications, and when I've selected the one I want, just press enter and it goes.

So, the change I propose, it's just when there's only 1 application that matches the query, just by pressing enter (without going with cursor keys) the application launches.

I am not programmer, and I understand conceptually it's easy to do, but what I don't know is what this change would affect at code level. Because if you have to rewrite mintMenu from scratch, obviously doesn't worth at all to introduce the change. I just make this feature request if it is easy to implement the idea in the code.

I hope this time is clear!
AlexSlocker
 

Re: Run Program mintMenu Feature

Postby foggytown on Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:47 am

When you type into the search field you can use the up arrow key to choose one of the results.

So if you are attempting to launch Firefox you type F-I-R-E then hit the up arrow and then enter. And Firefox launches--you don't need to resort to the mouse.
--john

Edit: Oops...I see that you have already discounted my "solution"--I should read the posts better before responding.
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.
--Aldous Huxley
User avatar
foggytown
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA usa


Return to Suggestions & New Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests