Software Sources fix/workaround

Contribute DEB packages
Forum rules
No support questions here please

Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:20 pm

I got software-properties-gtk to work by editing python-apt.(software-properties-gtk should work too)
Now python-apt reads the lsb_release info and changes it to the version of ubuntu it's based on.(edited distro.py)
This makes it work and sticks our Repos into the Third Party Repo tab.
Clem has added it to the Community Repository http://packages.linuxmint.com/#6community
Now has an amd64 package, compiled by alexxx24887.
Is in the Community Repo for Linux Mint 7 as well.

Enable the community repo and run apt update then apt install python-apt software-properties-gtk
For KDE CE apt install python-apt software-properties-kde

Image
Last edited by merlwiz79 on Sat May 30, 2009 4:21 pm, edited 8 times in total.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby Borsook on Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:26 pm

Thanks a lot for your work, this is much needed!
Borsook
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:48 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby viking777 on Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:36 pm

That is wonderful :D

What does it mean :oops:
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:41 pm

It's now in the Community rep, just enable and install.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:54 am

viking777 wrote:That is wonderful :D

What does it mean :oops:

This program is for editing the sources.list with an easy gui.
It also lets you add keys easily as well.
Some people didn't like that it didn't work, so I found a way to get it to.
Also allows you to use mirrors for the Ubuntu repo.
This may make the software install faster for some people.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby viking777 on Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:41 am

Thank you for the explanation merlwiz79.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby ianf6512 on Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:29 am

Is there a command to boot this up, because having installed it, I still get the old software sources in Synaptec. Even after a reboot.

Thanks.

Ian.
ianf6512
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:04 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:37 am

ianf6512 wrote:Is there a command to boot this up, because having installed it, I still get the old software sources in Synaptec. Even after a reboot.

Thanks.

Ian.

This is a fix for the problem in Linux Mint 6.
http://www.linuxmint.com/rel_felicia.php
Under Known issuses.
software-properties-gtk does not work. It contains hard-coded references to Ubuntu and Debian and fails to identify Linux Mint after reading the LSB info. Do not install this package. You can edit the repositories by using Synaptic. Without this package installed Synaptic uses its own graphical editor (which works just fine).

It won't change the software-properties-*
It just makes it so that it'll work again on Linux Mint.
There should be a menu entry called Software Sources.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby viking777 on Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:51 pm

Ok I am part way there.

So "software-properties-gtk" is a gui for adding new repositories.

So what is Synaptic/Settings/Repositories/New?

A previously undiscovered interface known only to me?

Or

A gui for adding new repositories. :?:
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:21 pm

viking777 wrote:Ok I am part way there.

So "software-properties-gtk" is a gui for adding new repositories.

So what is Synaptic/Settings/Repositories/New?

A previously undiscovered interface known only to me?

Or

A gui for adding new repositories. :?:

It replaces that gui and to add a new repo you just copy and paste the entire line.
Image
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby element on Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:02 am

i cant get this to work, is it because i am running x64?
element
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 12:54 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:48 pm

element wrote:i cant get this to work, is it because i am running x64?

Yea sorry I don't have an amd64 cpu so i can't make the package.
You could download the source and make it your self.
http://packages.linuxmint.com/#6community
Maybe clem will have time to compile one.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby element on Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:36 pm

is there something i should have looked for before i wasted an hour trying? i mean is there an obvious way to see that it would only work x86?
element
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 12:54 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby alexxx24887 on Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:23 pm

merlwiz79 wrote:
element wrote:i cant get this to work, is it because i am running x64?

You could download the source and make it your self.
http://packages.linuxmint.com/#6community


thx for that info, i build the packages on my 64bit system and works great for me 8)

great forum :mrgreen:
alexxx24887
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:39 pm

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby element on Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:53 pm

merlwiz79 wrote:
element wrote:i cant get this to work, is it because i am running x64?

Yea sorry I don't have an amd64 cpu so i can't make the package.
You could download the source and make it your self.
http://packages.linuxmint.com/#6community
Maybe clem will have time to compile one.

i googled this and there is an overwhelming amount of info. can you suggest a location to learn how to make packages from source? :?
element
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 12:54 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:46 pm

This is what I use for a reference. https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PackagingGuide/ ... %20Scratch
You can download the source and .dsc http://packages.linuxmint.com/pool/comm ... ython-apt/ and then run dpkg-source -x *.dsc
Or enable deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com felicia community and run apt source python-apt
In the new directory run debuild -us -uc.
It'll tell you what needs to be installed.
After the dependencies are installed run it again to make the python-apt package.
You need to make sure devscipts are installed to do this.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby tippo88 on Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:21 am

I cant find this package has it been moved? Thanks
tippo88
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:15 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby tippo88 on Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:24 am

I cant find this package has it been moved? Thanks
tippo88
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:15 am

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:32 am

No are you running the x64 edition?
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Software Sources fix/workaround

Postby tippo88 on Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:41 am

No just the standard. But when I go the the repo its not there either in synaptic or following the link in the first post. In synaptic only the ubuntu version even th have community repo enabled
tippo88
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Packages

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests